Back to IndieWire

The Jury is In!

The Jury is In!

Enzian announced today the nine industry professionals who will make up the three juries for the American Independent Competition at this year’s 17th annual Florida Film Festival, now just a little over six weeks away (March 28 – April 6). A process that begins every year at the Toronto International Film Festival in September, I couldn’t be happier with the end result–this is a great and diverse group of individuals who will add much to the festival, not to mention have a whole lot of fun and watch some terrific new films.

The Narrative Features jurors are Effie T. Brown, Producer (REAL WOMEN HAVE CURVES, ROCKET SCIENCE); David Laub, Acquisitions Manager – THINKFilm; and Rex Reed, Film Critic – New York Observer.

The Documentary Features & Shorts jurors are Brian Brooks, Managing Editor – indieWIRE; Kate Davis, Filmmaker (SOUTHERN COMFORT, FFF 2001 Grand Jury Award – Best Doc Feature, and PUCKER UP: THE FINE ART OF WHISTLING, FFF 2005 Audience Award – Best Doc Feature and Special Jury Award for Excellence in Filmmaking); and Greg Rhem, Manager – Original Programming, HBO.

The Narrative & Animated Shorts jurors are Karen Durbin, Film Critic – Elle Magazine; Nat Baruch, Regional Publicity Manager – IFC Films; and Cara Longo, Manager – Acquisitions & Programming, Sundance Channel.

Two narrative features, three short films, and three documentaries will be receiving Grand Jury and Special Jury Awards from these folks (and I’m sure they’ll have to earn it), and there will also be three Audience Awards sponsored by JetBlue Airways given to one film in each category. Results are announced at the big closing weekend party known as “The Revel” on Saturday night, April 5. You don’t want to miss it–or for that matter, the approximately 160 new films that are coming to town.


Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged