Back to IndieWire

CANNES ’08 | Dardennes, Desplechin, Egoyan, Eastwood, Martel, Salles, Soderbergh, and Wenders Among

CANNES '08 | Dardennes, Desplechin, Egoyan, Eastwood, Martel, Salles, Soderbergh, and Wenders Among

A number of familiar names are set to compete at the 61st Festival de Cannes organizers announced today in Paris, revealing the official selection of 52 feature films during a morning press conference. While the fest has yet to designate its opening and closing films, nineteen features are set to vie for the Palme d’Or. Among the films in competition are new work by The Dardenne Brothers, Arnaud Desplechin, Atom Egoyan, Clint Eastwood, Lucrecia Martel, Walter Salles, Steven Soderbergh, and Wim Wenders.

This year’s Cannes competition will feature just one first time feature director, namely Charlie Kaufman who will be in France with “Synecdoche, New York.” Bruno Dumont will head the Camera d’or jury for first time filmmakers. The ten competitors for that prestigious prize are noted below.

Writer turned director Kaufman will be in competition with Americans Clint Eastwood, director of “Changeling,” and Steven Soderbergh, set to debut his two new films (“The Argentine” and “Guerrilla“) under the four-hour banner, “Che.” Along with “Che” (jointly produced by the U.S., Spain and France), a number of French films or Gallic co-productions will debut, including Nuri Bilge Ceylan‘s “Three Monkeys,” The Dardenne‘s “Le Silence de Lorna,” Arnaud Desplechin‘s “Un Conte de Noel,” and Philippe Garrel‘s “La Frontiere de L’Aube.” Beyond the two movies about the legendary revolutionary, films from Latin America will also figure prominently in the competition, including Lucretia Martel‘s “La Mujer Sin Cabeza,” Walter Salles and Daniela Thomas‘ “Linha De Passe,” and Pablo Trapero‘s “Leonara.”

The official selection is listed below:

24 City,” directed by Jia Zhangke
Adoration,” directed by Atom Egoyan
Changeling,” directed by Clint Eastwood
Che,” directed by Steven Soderbergh
Un Conte de noel,” directed by Arnaud Desplechin
Delta,” directed by Kornel Mundruczo
Il Divo,” directed by Paolo Sorrentino
Gomorrah,” directed by Matteo Garrone
La Frontiere de l’aube,” directed by Philippe Garrel
Le Silence de Lorna,” directed by Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne
Leonera,” directed by Pablo Trapero
Linha de Passe,” directed by Walter Salles and Daniela Thomas
La mujer sin cabeza,” directed by Lucrecia Martel
My Magic,” directed by Eric Khoo
The Palermo Shooting,” directed by Wim Wenders
Three Monkeys,” directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Serbis,” directed by Brillante Mendoza
Synecdoche, New York,” directed by Charlie Kaufman (first feature)
Waltz With Bashir,” directed by Ari Folman

Actor and director Sean Penn will serve as the Festival de Cannes president of the jury this year, joined on the panel by Italian actor and director Sergio Castellitto, American actress Natalie Portman, Mexican director Alfonso Cuaron, Thai director Apichatpong Weerasethakul, German actress Alexandra Maria Lara, French director Rachid Bouchareb.

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull,” directed by Steven Spielberg
Kung Fu Panda,” directed by Mark Osborne and John Stevenson
The Good, the Bad, the Weird,” directed by
Kim Jee-woon
Vicky Cristina Barcelona,” directed by Woody Allen

Afterschool,” directed by Antonio Campos (first feature)
Cloud 9,” directed by Andreas Dresen
The Dead Girl’s Feast,” directed by Matheus Nachtergaele (first feature)
Involuntary,” directed by Ruben Ostlund (first feature)
Je Veux Voir,” directed by Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige
Johnny Mad Dog,” directed by Jean-Stephane Sauvaire
O’ Horten,” directed by Bent Hamer
Los Bastardos,” directed by Amat Escalante
Parking,” directed by Chung Mong-Hong (first feature)
Part Ocean, Part Flame,” directed by Liu Fendou
Salt of This Sea,” directed by Annemarie Jacir (first feature)
Soi Cowboy,” directed by Thomas Clay
The Moderne Life” (Profils Paysans), directed by Raymond Depardon
Tokyo!,” directed by Bong Joon Ho, Leos Carax, and Michel Gondry
Tokyo Sonata,” directed by Kiyoshi Kurosawa
Tulpan,” directed by Sergey Dvortsevoy (first feature)
Tyson,” directed by James Toback
Versailles,” directed by Pierre Schoeller (first feature)
Wendy and Lucy,” directed by Kelly Reichardt

The Chaser,” directed by Na Hong-Jin (first feature)
Maradona,” directed by Emir Kusturica
Surveillance,” directed by Jennifer Lynch

Ashes of Time Redux,” directed by Wong Kar Wai
C’Est Dur D’Etre Aime Par Des Cons,” directed by Daniel Leconte (first feature)
Chelsea Hotel,” directed by Abel Ferrara
Of Time and City,” directed by Terence Davies
Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired,” directed by Marina Zenovich
Sanguepazzo,” directed by Marco Tullio Giordana

The Third Wave,” directed by Alison Thompson

411-Z,” directed by Daniel Erdelyi
Jerrycan,” directed by Julius Avery
De Moins en Moins,” directed by Melanie Laurent
Good Trip,” directed by Javier Palleiro and Guillermo Rocamora
The Desire,” directed by Marie Benito
Love You More,” directed by Sam Taylor-Wood
Megatron,” directed by Marian Crisan
My Rabbit Hoppy,” directed by Anthony Lucas
Two Birds,” directed by Runar Runarsson

And I’ll Keep In My Heart,” directed by Yoon Sung-A (INSAS, Belgium)
Anthem,” directed by Elad Keidan (The Sam Spiegel Film and TV School, Israel)
August 15th,” directed by Jiang Zuan (California Institute of the Arts, United States)
Blind Spot,” directed by Joanna Bessiere, Cecile Dubois Herry, Simon Rouby, Nicolas Chauvelot, Olivier Clert, Yvon Jardel (Gobelins, Ecole de l’Image, France)
Forbach,” directed by Claire Burger (La Femis, France)
Gata,” directed by Diana Mkrtchyan (High Courses of Screenwriters and Directors, Russia)
Illusion Dwellers,” directed by Rob Ellender (Royal College of Art, United Kingdom)
Interior. Bloc of Flats Hallway,” directed by Ciprian Alexandrescu (National University for Film and Drama, Romania)
The Maid,” directed by Heidi Saman (Temple University, United States)
The Other Day in Eden,” directed by Jan Speckenbach (DFFB, Germany)
Naus,” directed by Lukas Glaser (FAMU, Czech Republic)
Roadmarkers,” directed by Juho Kuosmanen (University of Art and Design, Finland)
Silence,” directed by Hadar Morag (Tel-Aviv University, Israel)
Sound and the Rest,” directed by Andre Lavaquial (Escola de Cinema Darcy Ribeiro, Brazil)
Stop,” directed by Park Jae-ok (KAFA, South Korea)
The Watch,” directed by Marco Berger (Univeridad del Cine, Argentina)
This Is A Story About Ted and Alice,” directed by Teressa Tunny (Columbia University, United States)

Get the latest coverage of the 61st Cannes Film Festival, anytime in indieWIRE’s special section.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox