Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | “$Free.99,” “Stuart Hornsley,” “Matador,” and “Bardos” Win All Access Awards in Tribeca

iW NEWS | "$Free.99," "Stuart Hornsley," "Matador," and "Bardos" Win All Access Awards in Tribeca

The 2008 Tribeca Film Festival, along with the Tribeca Film Institute, announced the winners of the fifth annual Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Awards. Tribeca All Access (TAA) is a program designed to help “foster relationships between film industry executives and filmmakers from traditionally underrepresented communities.” The winners were announced earlier this evening at a ceremony at Budakkan in New York City. Pete Chatmon won the narrative section prize for his current screenplay, “$Free.99,” co-written by Candice Sanchez McClaren. The emerging narrative section prize went to Leigh Dana Jackson for “The Infinite Life of Stuart Hornsley,” with producer Moira Griffin.” Gemma Cubero and Celeste Carrasco won the documentary section award for their work-in-progress, “She Wants to Be A Matador,” while Anslem Richardson won the screenwriting section prize for “Bardos. The winners were selected from 31 eligible projects. The first three come with $12,000 prizes, while the latter is awarded $8,500. “We continue to be impressed at the caliber of our Tribeca All Access filmmakers,” said Jane Rosenthal, co-founder of the Tribeca Film Institute, in a statement. “In just five years the TAA program has proved to be a vibrant marketplace at the Festival where strong narrative, documentary and screenwriting is presented year after year.” [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox