Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Student Academy Awards Announced

iW NEWS | Student Academy Awards Announced

Eleven students from eight colleges and universities have been named winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 35th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. They will participate in a week of industry-related activities and social events, culminating in the awards ceremony on June 7 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The winners in the “Alternative” category are “Circles of Confusion” (Phoebe Tooke, San Francisco State University), and “Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant” (Shih-Ting Hung, University of Southern California); in the “Animation” category, Oscars went to “Simulacra” (Tatchapon Lertwirojkul, The School of Visual Arts), “The Visionary” (Evan Mayfield, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida), and “Zoologic” (Nicole Mitchell, California Institute of the Arts); the “Documentary” category winners were “As We Forgive” (Laura Waters Hinson, American University, Washington, D.C.), “If a Body Meet a Body” (Brian Davis, University of Southern California), and
Unattached“( J.J. Adler, Columbia University); and in the “Narrative” category, winners were “A Day’s Work” (Rajeev Dassani, University of Southern California), “Pitstop” (Melanie McGraw, University of Southern California), and “The State of Sunshine” (Z. Eric Yang, Florida State University). The “Honorary Foreign Film” award went to “On the Line (Auf der Strecke)” (Reto Caffi, Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, Germany). While the U.S. winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 7 ceremony. In addition to a trophy, Gold Medal winners receive $5,000, Silver Medal winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal winners receive $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives $1,000 in addition to a trophy. [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox