Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Academy Invites 105 For Membership

iW NEWS | Academy Invites 105 For Membership

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 105 artists and executives who have “distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.” Those who accept the invitation will be the only additions in 2008 to the Academy’s roster of voting members. “These individuals are all incredibly talented and a credit to the world of filmmaking,” said Academy President Sid Ganis in a statement. “They exemplify the high standards of the Academy and I welcome each and every one of them to our ranks.” Invitees include actors Sacha Baron Cohen, Josh Brolin, Marion Cotillard and Ruby Dee, directors Sergei Bodrov, James Gray, Michael Haneke, Kimberly Peirce and Jason Reitman, documentarians Nanette Burstein, Heidi Ewing, Liz Garbus, Michele Ohayon and Deborah Shaffer, and writers Judd Apatow, Diablo Cody, Jean-Claude Carriere, Nancy Oliver and Tamara Jenkins. New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills in September. [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox