Back to IndieWire

FILMMAKER | ’08 Edition: 25 New Faces of Independent Film

FILMMAKER | '08 Edition: 25 New Faces of Independent Film

The tenth annual list of 25 New Faces of Independent Film has been unveiled by Filmmaker Magazine. On the list for 2008 are: Ryan Bilsborrow-Koo and Zachary Lieberman (online series: “The West Side”), E.E. Cassidy (“We Are the Mods”), Encyclopedia Pictura (Bjork’s “Wanderlust” video), Jesse Epstein (“Wet Dreams & False Images”), Shana Feste (“The Greatest”), Barry Jenkins (“Medicine for Melancholy”), Myna Joseph (short film: “Man”), Eric Latek (“Sweet Dreams”), Julia Leigh (screenwriter, “The Witness”), Andrew Okpeaha MacLean (short film: “Sikumi”), John Magary (“Blood Abundance”), Aasif Mandvi (“7 to the Palace,” and The Daily Show), Bent-Jorgen Permutt (“Lumo”), Oren Peli (“Paranormal Activity”), Jennifer Phang (“Half-Life”), Tom Quinn (“The New Year Parade”), Dee Rees (short film, “Pariah”), Daniel Robin (short film, “my olympic summer”), Mark Russell (visual effects: “Sleep Dealer,” “Synecdoche, New York”), Joshua Safdie (“The Pleasure of Being Robbed”), Tariq Tapa‘s (“Zero Bridge”), Matt Wolf (“Wild Combination: A Portrait of Arthur Russell”), Christina Voros (short film: “The Ladies”), Benh Zeitlin‘s (short film: “Glory at Sea”), David and Nathan Zellner (“Goliath”). “The people on Filmmaker’s ’25 New Faces’ list are not only innovators we believe will be impacting tomorrow’s film scene, but they’re also artists engaged in a vital re-think of what it means to be independent today,” said film producer and Filmmaker’s editor in chief Scott Macaulay, in a statement. A full list of the 265 people on the list over the years is available on the Filmmaker Magazine site. [Eugene Hernandez]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox