Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Focus Announces Winners of Africa First Program

iW NEWS | Focus Announces Winners of Africa First Program

Focus FeaturesAfrica First Program, an initiative earmarked exclusively for emerging filmmakers of African nationality and residence, has announced the five filmmakers being awarded $10,000 apiece. Earlier this year, Focus offered participating filmmakers the chance to be awarded the financing for production and/or post-production on their narrative short film made in continental Africa and tapping the resources of the film industry there. The winning filmmakers are Edouard Bamporiki (Rwanda), Jenna Bass (South Africa), Jan-Hendrik Beetge (South Africa), Dyana Gaye (Senegal), and Wanuri Kahiu (Kenya). “Given the response to our program, there was no shortage of new talent to choose from,” said Focus CEO James Schamus in a statement. “The final five have great stories to tell that are original in every respect, but what was even more impressive were the scores and scores of other strong projects we were unfortunately not able to help – this time.” [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox