Back to IndieWire

Why Republican Yankee Fans are idiots

Why Republican Yankee Fans are idiots

From Sunday’s NY Times:

Noun, Verb, 9/11

Politics and Yankees

As Yankees General Manager Brian Cashman could tell you, the last six times his beloved Kentucky Wildcats won the N.C.A.A. men’s basketball title, the Yankees also won the World Series. It happened in 1949, 1951, 1958, 1978, 1996 and 1998 — all glory years in Lexington and in the Bronx.
I was recently reminded of this when listening to Evan Roberts on WFAN. With the Democratic National Convention last week, it seemed that Yankees fans should have been paying close attention. The Democrats, it turns out, may hold the key to a Yankees revival.

The last eight Yankees titles have been won with a Democrat in office: John F. Kennedy (1961, 1962), Jimmy Carter (1977, 1978) and Bill Clinton (1996, 1998, 1999, 2000). Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford, Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush and George W. Bush have presided over 27 World Series, and the Yankees have won none. (They also whiffed when Lyndon B. Johnson was president.)

It’s useless trivia, of course, but maybe there really is a pattern: while the Yankees thrive with Democrats, the Mets win their titles with Republicans in office. Nixon was the president in 1969 and Reagan in 1986. TYLER KEPNER

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox