Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Academy Announces Fellowship Winners

iW NEWS | Academy Announces Fellowship Winners

Six new screenwriters have been selected as winners in the 23rd Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Each writer or writing team will receive a prestigious $30,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on November 13, featuring a keynote address by screenwriter Scott Frank. This year’s winner’s are Jeremy Bandow for “Hive,” Ken Kristensen and Colin Marshall for “Out of Breath,” Jason Micallef for “Butter,” Eric Nazarian for “Giants,” and Lee Patterson for “Snatched.” The winners were selected from 5,224 scripts submitted for this year’s competition. The competition is open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000, or received a fellowship or prize that includes a “first look” clause, an option, or any other quid pro quo involving the writer’s work. [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox