You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | Clint Eastwood to Take “Modern Master” Nod at Santa Barbara Fest

iW NEWS | Clint Eastwood to Take "Modern Master" Nod at Santa Barbara Fest

Clint Eastwood will receive “The Modern Master Award” at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, taking place January 22 – February 1. The tribute will take place Thursday, January 29 at the historic Arlington Theatre, SBIFF’s executive director Roger Durling announced Thursday. The award is the highest honor presented by SBIFF. Established in 1995, it was created to honor an individual who “has enriched our culture through his/her accomplishments in the motion picture industry.” Past Modern Masters recipients include Michael Douglas, Peter Jackson, Jodie Foster, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Sean Penn, Jeff Bridges, Diane Keaton, George Clooney, Will Smith, and Cate Blanchett. “Clint Eastwood is inarguably one of our greatest directors, one of our greatest producers and one of our greatest actors ever – to call him a Modern Master is simply an understatement,” commented Durling in a statement. [Brian Brooks]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox