Back to IndieWire

iW NEWS | “Young@Heart” Among Early IDA Award Winners

iW NEWS | "Young@Heart" Among Early IDA Award Winners

Winners for the International Documentary Association‘s 2008 IDA Documentary Awards competition were announced in several major categories ahead of the awards ceremony, to be held December 5th at the Directors Guild Theater in Los Angeles. For television, Ira Glass‘ “This American Life” won the Continuing Series Award for the second year in a row, while the Limited Series Award went to Denis Poncet, Jean Xavier De Lestrade and Remy Burkel‘s eight part series “Sin City Law.” In the film categories, Stephen Walker‘s “Young@Heart” won the IDA/Alan Ett Music Documentary Award. The IDA/Pare Lorentz Award, in homage to the filmmaker’s legacy, was given to David Novack‘s “Burning The Future: Coal in America,” a look at the coal industry. Oliver Hodge‘s “Garbage Warrior” received a special mention in that category. Voting continues for the inaugural Audience Award, where all IDA members can vote for their favorite doc from a list of the year’s nonfiction features. [Peter Knegt]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox