Back to IndieWire

Santa Barbara Names Virtuosos Award Recipients

Santa Barbara Names Virtuosos Award Recipients

Viola Davis, Rosemarie DeWitt, Sally Hawkins, Richard Jenkins, Melissa Leo and Michael Shannon have been named the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s 2009 Virtuosos Award recipients. The awards, honoring the year’s standout performers, will be presented Wednesday, January 28 at the 24th edition of the Fest, which runs January 22-February 1, 2009. “Each of these virtuosos have dazzled us with some of the most unexpected, scene-stealing, heart-breaking, uncompromising, fearless and startling performances of the year,” said SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling in a statement. Last year’s recipients of this inaugural award were Casey Affleck, Marion Cotillard, James McAvoy, Ellen Page and Amy Ryan.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox