Back to IndieWire

ASC Announces 2009 Heritage Award Recipients

ASC Announces 2009 Heritage Award Recipients

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has named the 2009 recipients of the ASC Burton Stone Heritage Award for “outstanding achievement in student filmmaking.” Nathan Levine-Heaney from Florida State University took the top prize in the Graduate category, while Aaron Dunson from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts won in the Undergraduate competition. Their awards will be presented here during the 23rd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration on February 15, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel.

“These students have demonstrated an ability to create images for their films that visually evoke the emotions of the story in a collaborative environment,” says ASC President Daryn Okada in a statement. “The ASC designed this award to encourage talented student filmmakers to pursue careers in cinematography. Several past winners are now working in the industry and following their dreams.”

Also receiving honorable mentions for their submissions were graduate students Andrew Russo (University of Southern California) and Amanda Treyz (American Film Institute), as well as Golnar Fakhrai (California State University, Long Beach), and Jeffrey S. Taylor (University of North Carolina School of the Arts) who are pursuing undergraduate degrees.

Applicants for the Heritage Award must be either in their final year of film school or a recent graduate. Their submissions must be accompanied by a written recommendation from a film school chair, dean or teacher. Entries were judged by a jury of ASC members.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox