Back to IndieWire

Berlinale Adds Final Titles to Competition Roster

Berlinale Adds Final Titles to Competition Roster

The final additions of the 59th Berline International Film Festival were unveiled today, including features that will screen as galas from the just concluded Sundance Film Festival. The world debut of “My One and Only” by Richard Loncraine with Renee Zellweger, Kevin Bacon, Logan Lerman and Mark Rendall joins the 26-title official program of this year’s Berlinale. Eighteen of the films, including “My One and Only” will compete for the fest’s Golden and Silver Bears. As previously reported, German director Tom Tykwer’s “The International” with Clive Owen and Naomi Watts will open the festival out of competition.

“An Education” by Lone Scherfig with Carey Mulligan and Peter Sarsgaard as well as Davis Guggenheim’s doc “It Might Get Loud” with The Edge, Jimmy Page and Jack White will join the festival’s “Berlinale Special” section from Park City, with gala screenings at the Friedrichstadtpalast. Of this year’s competition line up, 14 are world premieres in addition to three other world debuts in the official program.

The full competition program of the 2009 Berlin International Film Festival:

“Alle Anderen” (Everyone Else), directed by Maren Ade (Germany)

“Cheri,” directed by Stephen Frears (UK, Germany, France)

“Darbareye Elly” (About Elly), directed by Asghar Farhadi (Iran)

“Eden is West,” directed by Costa-Gavras (France, Greece, Italy) – Screening at the Awards Ceremony, out of competition

“Forever Enthralled,” directed by Chen Kaige (China)

“Gigante,” directed by Adrian Biniez (Uruguay, Germany, Argentina, Netherlands)

“Happy Tears,” directed by Mitchell Lichtenstein (U.S.)

“In the Electric Mist,” directed by Bertrand Tavernier (France, U.S.)

“The International,” directed by Tom Tykwer (U.S., Germany) – Opening night film, out of competition

“I skoni tou chronou,” (The Dust of Time), directed by Theo Angelopoulos (Greece, Italy, Germany, Russia)

“Katalin Varga,” directed by Peter Strickland (Romania, UK, Hungary)

“La teta asustada” (The Milk of Sorrow), directed by Claudia Llosa (Spain, Peru)

“Lille Soldat,” (Little Soldier), directed by Annette K. Olesen (Denmark)

“London River,” directed by Rachid Bourchareb (Algeria, France, UK)

“Mammoth,” directed by Lukas Moodysson (Sweden, Germany, Denmark)

“The Messenger,” directed by Oren Moverman (U.S.)

“My One and Only,” directed by Richard Loncraine (U.S.)

“Notorious,” directed by George Tillman Jr. (U.S.)

“Pink Panther 2,” directed by Harald Zwart (U.S.)

“The Private Lives of Pippa Lee,” directed by Rebecca Miller (U.S.)

“Rage,” directed by Sally Potter (UK)

“The Reader,” directed by Stephen Daldry (U.S., Germany)

“Ricky,” directed by Francois Ozon (France, Italy)

“Storm,” directed by Hans-Christian Schmid (Germany, Denmark, Netherlands)

“13 Short Films About the State of the Nation,” directed by Fatih Akin, Wolfgang Becker, Sylke Enders, Dominik Graf, Martin Gressmann, Christoph Hochhausler, Romuald Karmakar, Nicolette Krebitz, Dani Levi, Angela Schanelec, Hans Steinbichler, Isabelle Stever, Tom Tykwer, Hans Weingarnter (Out of Competition)

“Tatarak” (Sweet Rush), directed by Andrzej Wajda (Poland)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox