Back to IndieWire

Five New Albums Worth Your Dime

Five New Albums Worth Your Dime

1. AC Newman, Get Guilty
(New Pornographers frontman unloads his second solo album, a fuller exploration into his brilliant pop schematics.)

2. Animal Collective, Merriweather Post Pavilion
(The enigmatic and experimental trio lives up to the hype, and beyond the lagging last LP, to bring us what may end up being one of the best of 2009.)

3. The Knux, Remind Me In 3 Days…
(Smart hip-hop from this New Orleans duo blurs the line between rap and lo-fi rock. It’s catchy, stylish, and doesn’t take itself too seriously.)

4. Titus Andronicus, The Airing of Grievances
(These newcomers bring the noise. Raucous and rowdy, they sound like a younger Trail of Dead.)

5. Bruce Springsteen, Working On A Dream
(The Boss makes us remember, again, why we’re so lucky he’s around. Prolific and precise, his latest is another winning notch on his impressive belt. Also features his Oscar-dissed theme song from The Wrestler.)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox