You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Brothers Bloom” and Sundance Favs Set for Independent Film Festival of Boston

"Brothers Bloom" and Sundance Favs Set for Independent Film Festival of Boston

Check out indieWIRE’s New Guide to Film Festivals (listings will be updated throughout the year):

Rian Johnson’s “The Brothers Bloom” starring Mark Ruffalo, Adrien Brody, and Rachel Weisz will open the 2009 Independent Film Festival of Boston, taking place April 22 – 28. The adventure/comedy/drama centers on “the best con men in the world” who are swindling millioaires with complex scenarios of lust and intrigue.” As a final heist, the duo take a beautiful heiress on an adventure that takes them around the world. Johnson and selected cast will be in attendance for the Opening Night screening.

Highlights of the 2009 festival include Ondi Timoner’s (“Dig!”) Sundance Audience Award and Grand Jury Prize-winning documentary “We Live in Public,” Guillermo Arriaga’s (writer of “Babel”, “21 Grams”) directorial debut “The Burning Plain,” starring Charlize Theron and Kim Basinger, “500 Days of Summer” starring Joseph Gordon Levitt and Zooey Deschanel, Peter Bratt’s “La Mission” starring Benjamin Bratt, Armando Iannucci’s “In the Loop” starring James Gandolfini, Hirokazu Koreeda’s “Still Walking” Robert Siegel’s (writer of “The Wrestler”) “Big Fan” starring Patton Oswalt and Kevin Corrigan, Olivier Assayas’ “Summer Hours” starring Juliette Binoche, and “World’s Greatest Dad” directed by Bobcat Goldthwait.

Narrative and Documentary selections screening at the 2009 Independent Film Festival of Boston

Narrative Features
“500 Days of Summer,” directed by Marc Webb
“The Answer Man,” directed by John Hindman
“Beeswax,” directed by Andrew Bujalski
“Big Fan,” directed by Robert Seigel
“Birdwatchers,” directed by Marco Bechis
“Bronson,” directed by Nicolas Winding Refn
“The Brothers Bloom,” directed by Rian Johnson
“The Burning Plain,” directed by Guillermo Arriaga
“Children of Invention,” directed by Tze Chun
“The Escapist,” directed by Rupert Wyatt
“From Inside,” directed by John Bergin
“Grace,” directed by Paul Solet
“Helen,” directed by Joe Lawlor & Christine Malloy
“The Higher Force,” directed by Olaf De Fleur
“In the Loop,” directed by Armando Iannucci
“Make-Out with Violence,” directed by The Deagol Brothers
“The Missing Person,” directed by Noah Buschel
“La Mission,” directed by Peter Bratt
“Pontypool,” directed by Bruce McDonald
“Still Walking,” directed by Hirokazu Koreeda
“Stingray Sam,” directed by Cory McAbee
“Summer Hours,” directed by Olivier Assayas
“That Evening Sun,” directed by Scott Teems
“The Vicious Kind,” directed by Lee Toland Kreiger
“The World’s Greatest Dad,” directed by Bobcat Goldthwait

Documentary Features
“Art & Copy,” directed by Doug Pray
“Automorphosis,” directed by Harrod Blank
“Best Worst Movie,” directed by Michael Stephenson
“Blood, Sweat & Cheers,” directed by Al Ward
“Chip on My Shoulder,” directed by Ian McFarland
“Crude,” directed by Joe Berlinger
“Food Inc.,” directed by Robert Kenner
“For the Love of Movies,” directed by Gerald Peary
“Herb and Dorothy,” directed by Megumi Sasaki
“I Need that Record! directed by Brendan Toller
“Invisible Girlfriend,” directed by David Redmon and Ashley Sabin
“Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison,” directed by Bestor Cram
“Kimjongilia,” directed by NC Heikin
“The Lost Son of Havana,” directed by Jonathan Hock
“Luckey,” directed by Laura Longsworth
“Mine,” directed by Geralyn Pezanoski
“Monsters from the ID,” directed by David Gargani
“Nollywood Babylon,” directed by Ben Addelman and Samir Mallal
“Of All the Things,” directed by Jody Lambert
“Prom Night in Mississippi,” directed by Paul Saltzman
“Shooting Beauty,” directed by George Kachadorian
“Shouting Fire: Stories from the Edge of Free Speech,” directed by Liz Garbus
“Speaking in Code,” directed by Amy Grill
“The Sweet Lady with the Nasty Voice,” directed by Joanne Fish and Vincent Kralyevich
“Trimpin: The Sound of Invention,” directed by Peter Esmonde
“Trinidad,” directed by PJ Raval
“Trust Us, This is All Made Up,” directed by Alex Karpovksy
“Unmistaken Child,” directed by Nati Baratz
“Upstream Battle,” directed by Ben Kampas
“The Way We Get By,” directed by Aron Gaudet
“We Live in Public,” directed by Ondi Timoner
“William Kunstler: Disturbing the Universe,” directed by Sarah and Emily Kunstler
“Winnebago Man,” directed by Ben Steinbauer

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox