Back to IndieWire

“Blossoms” Wins Cleveland’s Audience Award

"Blossoms" Wins Cleveland's Audience Award

The 33rd Cleveland International Film Festival, which ran March 19-29, has announced its festival winners. The festival, which saw a 27% increase in attendance over last year featured 68 sold-out screenings from 143 feature films.

Audience Choice Awards:

The 2009 Cleveland Magazine Roxanne T. Mueller Audience Choice Award for Best Film:
Cherry Blossoms Directed by Doris Doerie, Germany

The Way We Get By Directed by Aron Gaudet (USA)
Sin By Silence Directed by Olivia Klaus (USA)
Herb and Dorothy Directed by Megumi Sasaki (USA)
Forgotten Transports: To Estonia Directed by Lukas Pribyl (Czech Republic)
Prom Night in Mississippi Directed by Paul Saltzman (USA)

Greg Gund Memorial Standing Up Film Competition:

The selections included in Standing Up are films with a conscience. Standing Up celebrates social justice and activism by presenting films with messages that cannot and should not be ignored. Thanks to the generosity of The George Gund Foundation and the establishment of an endowment in memory of Greg Gund, Standing Up and its $5,000 cash prize will remain a permanent part of the Cleveland International Film Festival.

Determined by audience vote, the 2009 Greg Gund Memorial Standing Up Film Competition Award went to:
The Way We Get By Directed by Aron Gaudet (USA)

American Independent Award

The winner of the $2,500 cash prize for the 2009 American Independent Film Competition as determined by audience vote was:
Prince of Broadway Directed by Sean Baker (USA)

Central and Eastern European Film Competition:

The winner of the $10,000 cash prize for the Central and Eastern European Film Competition was:
The Investigator Directed by Attila Gigor (Hungary)

Nesnady + Schwartz Documentary Film Competition:

The winner of the $5,000 cash prize for the 2009 Nesnadny + Schwartz Documentary Film Competition was:
Trinidad Directed by PJ Raval & Jay Hodges (USA)

Independent Shorts Jury Awards Program:

Best Animated Short Film Award:
Hungu – Winner Directed by Nicolas Brault (Canada)

Best Documentary Short Film Award:
Down Here – Winner Directed by Charles Wilkenson (Canada)

Best International Short Film Award:
Surprise! – WInner Directed by Barrice Marucar (France)

Best LGBT Short Film:
Second Guessing Grandma Directed by Bob Giraldi (USA)

Best Live Action Short Film Award:
Gilles – Winner Directed by Constant Mentzas (Canada)

Best Student Short Film Award:
Kwame Directed by Edward Osei-Gyimah (USA)

Best Women’s Short Film Award:
Love, Sadie Directed Naiti Gamez (USA)

The Clover and Maggie Award: In Celebration of Life
Forget-Me-Not Directed by Katia Grivot (France)

Jesse Epstein Humanitarian Award
Crossing Midnight Directed by Kim Synder (USA)

Kodak Best Ohio Short Film Award
Operation Falcon Directed by Tim O’Hara (USA)

The Spalding Award: In Celebration of Joy
Bronx Balletomane Directed by Jeremy Joffee (USA)

The 2009 Cleveland State University Audience Choice Award for Best Short Film
Toyland Directed by Jochen Alexander Freydank (Germany)

Check out indieWIRE’s New Guide to Film Festivals (listings will be updated throughout the year):

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox