You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

24 World Premieres To Hit Locarno

24 World Premieres To Hit Locarno

The Locarno Film Festival, running August 5-15, has announced its 62nd edition of programming. 24 world premieres are scheduled for the event, including Amos Gitai’s “La Guerre Des Fils De La Lumiere Contre Les Fils Des Tenebres,” Arnaud and Jean-Marie Larrieu’s “Les Dernier Jours Du Monde,” and Byambasuren Davaa’s “Chingisiyn Hoyor Zagal.

The festival’s international competition will feature 18 films from 15 countries, including seven directorial debuts. Among them, Oliver Hermanus’ “Shirley Adams,” Laurent Perreau’s “L’Insurgee,” and Urzsula Antoniak’s “Nothing Personal.” The International Competition’s jury has been announced as Jean-Marie Blanchand, the director of the Grande Theatre de Geneve, German actress Nina Hoss and Sang-soo Hong, the South Korean film-maker.

Aforementioned “Adams” is the lone U.S. film in the competition (though its a U.S.-South Africa co-production), joining 4 other U.S. titles in the festival’s other programs – Nick Cassavetes’ “My Sister’s Keeper,” Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher’s “October Country,” C.W. Winter and Anders Edstrom’s “The Anchorage” (a Swedish co-pro), and previously announced opening night film “(500) Days of Summer,” directed by Marc Webb.

Italian filmmaker and stage actor Pippo Delbono will be honored in Loarno with a retrospective of his work, while previously announced honorees include William Friedkin and French producer Martine Marignac.

A complete list of titles screening at the Locarno International Film Festival:

Piazza Grande

500 Days Of Summer, Dir: Marc Webb (US)
Blue Sofa, Dir: Giuseppe Baresi (Italy)
Chingisiyn Hoyor Zagal, Dir: Byambasuren Davaa (Germany)
Giulias Verschwinden, Dir: Christoph Schaub (Swizerland)
La Guerre Des Fils De La Lumiere Contre Les Fils De Tenebres, Dir: Amos Gitai (France)
La Valle Delle Ombre, Dir: Mihály Györik (Switzerland/Italy/Hungary)
Les Derniers Jours De Monde, Dir: Arnaud Larrieu and Jean-Marie Larrieu – (France/Spain/Taiwan)
Les Yeux De Simone (short film), Dir: Jean Louise Porchet (Swizerland/France)
My Sisters Keeper, Dir: Nick Cassavetes (United States)
Petit Indi, Dir:Marc Recha (Spain/France)
Pom Poko, Dir: Isao Takahata (Japan)
Redline, Dir:Takeshi Koike (Japan)
Same Same But Different, Dir: Detlev Buck (Germany)
Sounds And Silence, Dir: Norbert Wiedmer and Peter Guyer (Switzerland)
Unter Bauern – Retter in Der Nacht, Dir: Ludi Boeken (Germany/France)

Piazza Grande Manga Night

Mobile Suit Gundam, Dir Ryoji Fujiwara and Yoshiyuki Tomino
La Maison en Petits Cubes, Dir: Kunio Kato
First Squad: The Moment Of Truth, Dir: Yoshiharu Asino, Misha Shprits, Aljoscha Klimov (Canada/Russia/Germany)

International Competition

A Religiosa Portuguesa, Dir: Eugene Green (Portugal/France)
Akadimia Platonos, Dir: Filippos Tsitos (Greece/Germany)
Au Voleur, Dir: Sarah Leonor (France)
Buben Baraban, Dir: Aleksei Mizgiryov (Russia)
Complices, Dir: Frédéric Mermoud (France/Switzerland)
Frontier Blues, Dir: Babak Jalali (Iran/Great Britain/Italy)
La Cantante De Tango, Dir: Diego Martinez Vignatti (Belgium/Argentina)
La Donation, Dir: Bernard Émond (Canada)
La Invencion De La Carne, Dir: Sangtiago Loza (Argentina)
L’Insurgee, Dir: Laurent Perreau (France)
Nothing Personal, Dir: Urszula Antoniak (Netherlands/Ireland)
Os Famosos E Os Duendes Da Morte, Dir: Esmir Filho (Brazil/France)
At The End Of Daybreak, Dir: Ho Yuhang (Malaysia-Hong Kong-South Korea)
She, A Chinese. Dir: Xiaolu Guo (Great Britain/France/Germany)
Shirley Adams, Dir: Oliver Hermanus (South Africa/United States)
Summer Wars, Dir: Mamoru Hosoda (Japan)
The Search, Dir: Pema Tseden (China)
Wakarana, Dir: Masahiro Kobayashi (Japan)

Out of Competition:

La Paura, Dir: Pippo Delbono (France)

Filmmakers of the Present Competition

Castro, Dir: Alejo Moguillansky (Argentina)
Halsningar Fran Skogen, Dir: Mikel Cee Karlsson (Sweden)
Ivul, Dir: Andrew Kotting (France/Switzerland)
Kærlighedens Krigere, Dir: Simon Staho (Denmark)
Koprudekiler, Dir: Asli Ozge (Germany/Turkey/Netherlands)
La Reine Des Pommes, Dir: Valérie Donzelli (France)
Mirna, Dir: Corso Salani (Italy)
Musashi: The Dream Of The Last Samurai, Dir: Mizuho Nishikubo (Japan)
Nikotoko Tou, Dir: Takuya Dairiki and Takashi Miura (Japan)
October Country, Dir: Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher (United States)
Piombo Fuso, Dir Stefano Savona (Italy)
SognoIl Mondo Il Venerdì, Dir: Pasquale Marrazzo (Italy)
The Anchorage, Dir: C.W. Winter and Anders Edstrom (United States/Sweden)
The Marsdreamers, Dir: Richard Dindo (Switzerland/France)
Todos Mienten, Dir: Matias Pineiro (Argentina)
Un Transport En Commun, Dir: Dyana Gaye (France)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox