Back to IndieWire

European Film Awards Set Discovery Nominees

European Film Awards Set Discovery Nominees

At the Zurich Film Festival, the European Film Academy has announced this year’s nominations for the European Discovery Award, an award presented as part of the European Film Awards to a young and upcoming director for a first full-length feature film. All co-productions, the nominees are Scandar Copti & Yaron Shani’s “Ajami,” from Germany and Israel; George Ovashvili’s “Gagma Napiri” (The Other Bank), from Georgia and Kazakhstan; Peter Strickland’s “Katalin Varga,” from Romania, Hungary and the UK; Juliette Garcias’ “Sois Sage” (Be Good), from France and Denmark; and Oezcan Alper’s “Sonbahar” (Autumn), from Turkey and Germany.

This year’s nominations were determined by a committee comprised of Board Members Pawel Pawlikowski (UK), Els Vandevorst (the Netherlands) and Pierre-Henri Deleau (France), Jacob Neiiendam (director of the film festival CPH:PIX, Denmark), as well as film journalists Dana Linssen (the Netherlands) and Alin Taciyan (Turkey), both of them members of FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics). The committee met in Zurich and decided on the following nominations.

The nominated films will now be made available to all 2,000 members of the European Film Academy. They will vote for the winner who will be announced at the 22nd European Film Awards on December 12, 2009 in Germany’s Ruhr Metropolis.

Last year, the award went to Steve McQueen’s “Hunger.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox