You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Mulligan, Sidibe and Daniels Among Hollywood Fest Honorees

Mulligan, Sidibe and Daniels Among Hollywood Fest Honorees

“An Education”‘s Carey Mulligan, “The Hurt Locker”‘s Jeremy Renner, and “Precious”;s Gabourey ‘Gabby’ Sidibe and Lee Daniels are among the honorees announced for the 13th Annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards. Mulligan will receive the “Hollywood Breakthrough Actress Award,” Renner will be honored with the “Hollywood Breakthrough Actor Award,” Daniels will receive the “Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award,” Sidibe will receive the “New Hollywood Award,” while “(500) Days of Summer” screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber will also be recognized with the “Hollywood Breakthrough Screenwriter Award.”

The announcement was made today by Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival. “These honorees have been steadily laying the groundwork of choice projects upon which to build their Hollywood careers, and this was their year to really stand out,” said de Abreu in a statement.

Last year in these categories, “Happy-Go-Lucky”‘s Sally Hawkins and “Milk”‘s James Franco won the breakthrough acting awards, “Doubt”‘s John Patrick Shanley won for breakthrough directing, and eventual Oscar winner Dustin Lance Black won for breakthrough screenwriting for his work on “Milk.”

A variety of other categories – including actor and actress of the year – have yet to be announced for the gala ceremony, which will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills on October 26, 2009.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox