Back to IndieWire

“Precious,” “Victoria” To Join Austin’s Sweet Sixteen

"Precious," "Victoria" To Join Austin's Sweet Sixteen

The Austin Film Festival & Conference has announced the full feature-length film schedule for its 16th year (with the exception of Opening and Closing night films, which will be announced soon). The lineup is made up largely of independent films, and includes 24 world and U.S. premieres and 40 regional premieres like Lee Daniels’ “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” Grant Heslov’s “The Men Who Stare At Goats,” and Oren Moverman’s “The Messenger,” which will screen as the festival’s centerpiece.

Along with the new films premiering at the festival, there will be special and retrospective screenings presented by special guests, such as “The Falcon and the Snowman” presented by Steven Zaillian, “Apollo 13” presented by Ron Howard, and episodes of “Mad Men” presented by the show’s creator, Matthew Wiener.

The festival will take place October 22-29, 2009, in Austin, Texas and will host more than 170 exciting film screenings and events, and produce more than 80 panels and roundtable discussions focusing on the art and commerce of film and television writing and production. The following is the list of the festival’s feature films.

Marquee Screenings:

Calvin Marshall Gary Lundgren (Writer/Director) – (World Premiere)

Con Artist – Michael Sladek (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Harmony and Me – Robert Byington (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

La Mission – Peter Bratt (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Love the Beast – Eric Bana (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

The Men Who Stare at Goats – Peter Straughan (Writer), Grant Heslov (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

PoliWood – Barry Levinson (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire – Geoffrey Fletcher (Writer), Lee Daniels (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Red Cliff – John Woo (Writer/Director), Chen Han (Writer), Sheng Heyu (Writer) – (Regional Premiere)

Tales from the Script – Peter Hanson (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

The Vicious Kind– Lee Toland Kreiger (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Warlords – Tin Nam Chun (Writer), Junli Guo (Writer), Jiping He (Writer), Jianxin Huang (Writer), Jo Jo Yuet-chun Hui (Writer), Oi Wah Lam (Writer), Lan Xu (Writer), James Yuen (Writer), Peter Chan (Director), Wai Man Yip (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Why We Laugh – Robert Townsend (Director), Quincy Newell (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

William Kunstler: Disturbing the Universe – Emily Kunstler (Director), Sarah Kunstler (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

The Young Victoria – Julian Fellowes (Writer), Jean-Marc Vallee (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Centerpiece Film:

The Messenger – Oren Moverman (Regional Premiere)

AFF Presents…

Ron Howard Presents… Apollo 13

Michael Hurwitz presents…

Stewart Stern presents… The Ugly American

SyFy presents… Caprica

Matthew Wiener presents… Mad Men

Steven Zaillian presents… The Falcon and the Snowman

Narrative Feature Competition:

American Cowslip – Mark David (Writer/Director), Ronnie Gene Blevins (Writer) – (World Premiere)

Cummings Farm – Ted Beck (Writer), Andrew Drazek (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Earthwork – Chris Ordal (Writer/Director) – (World Premiere)

Godspeed – Robert Saitzyk (Writer/Director), Cory Knauf (Writer) – (Regional Premiere)

Happy Ending – Atsuhiro Yamada (Writer/Director) – (U.S. Premiere)

How I Got Lost – Joe Leonard (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Little Fish, Strange Pond – Robert Dean Klein (Writer), Gregory Dark (Director) – (World Premiere)

Myna Se Va – Sonia Escolano Pujante (Writer/Director), Sadrac Gonzalez Perellon (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Passenger Side – Mattew Bissonnitte (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Tenure – Mike Million (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Thor at the Bus Stop – Jerry Thompson (Writer/Director), Mike Thompson (Writer/Director) –
(Regional Premiere)

Tobruk – Vaclav Marhoul (Writer/Director) – (U.S. Premiere)

Documentary Feature:

Automorphosis – Harrod Blank (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Downtown Calling – Shan Nicholson (Director) – (World Premiere)

Floored – James Smith (Director) – (World Premiere)

Grown in Detriot – Mascha Poppenk (Director), Manfred Poppenk (Director) – (U.S. Premiere)

Houston, We Have a Problem – Nicole Torre (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

In 500 Words or Less – Amanda Zinoman (Director), Molly Fowler (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Left Field – Ben Steger (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

My Run – Tim VandeSteeg (Director) – (World Premiere)

Torey’s Distraction – Tisha Blood (Director) – (World Premiere)

Warrior Champions – Craig Renaud (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Target Family Film Series:

31 Minutes – Alvaro Diaz (Writer/Director), Pedro Peirano (Writer/Director), Rodrigo Salinas (Writer), Daniel Castro (Writer) – (Regional Premiere)

Alabama Moon – Watt Key (Writer), James Whittaker (Writer), Tim McCanlies (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Missy and the Maxinator – D.J. Lynch (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Wild Texas Weather – John Lewis (Director), Patrick Fries (Director) – (World Premiere)

Comedy Vanguard:

Herpes Boy – Byron Lane (Writer), Nathaniel Atcheson (Director) – (World Premiere)

Punching the Clown – Gregori Viens (Writer/Director), Henry Phillips (Writer) – (Regional Premiere)

The Scenesters – Todd Berger (Writer/Director) – (World Premiere)

Simmons on Vinyl – Mark Potts (Writer/Director), Cole Selix (Writer) – (World Premiere)

Dark Matters:

The Donner Party – TJ Martin (Writer/Director) – (World Premeire)

Hunger – Steven Hentges (Writer/Director), L.D. Goffigan (Writer) – (World Premiere)

Lo – Travis Betz (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Strigoi – Faye Jackson (Writer/Director) – (Regional Premiere)

ZMD: Zombies of Mass Destruction – Kevin Hamedani (Writer/Director), Ramon Isao (Writer) – (Regional Premiere)

Off the Record, presented with Waterloo Records:

Bob Schneider Live at the Paramount – King Hollis (Director) – (World Premiere)

Cowtown Ballroom… Sweet Jesus – Joe Heyen (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

D Tour – Jim Granato (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Pocket Full of Soul – Marc Lempert (Director) – (World Premiere)

Todd P Goes to Austin – Jay Buim (Director) – (Regional Premiere)

Austin Screens:

Baghdad Texas – David Hickey (Writer/Director), Shaneye Ferrell (Writer), Al No’Mani (Writer) – (Regional Premiere)

Hockey Night in Texas – Craig Knapp (Director) – (World Premiere)

Holy Hell – Rafael Antonio Ruiz (Writer/Director), Lowell Bartholomee (Writer) – (World Premiere)

Love & Tambourines – Jeremy Cohen (Writer/Director) – (World Premiere)

Straight To the Bone – Erik Mauck (Writer/Director – (World Premiere)

Stoner – Michael Greene (Writer/Director) – (World Premiere)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox