Back to IndieWire

4 Students Named Winners of Kodak Film School Competition

4 Students Named Winners of Kodak Film School Competition

Four students have been named first-place winners in the 2009 edition of the annual Kodak Film School Competition. The winners are: Chris Freilich from the American Film Institute in the United States; Hatuey Viveros from Centro de Capacitacion Cinematografica in Mexico; Andrzej Krol from the Fachhochschule Dortmund in Germany; and Liu Yizeng from Beijing Film Academy in China.

Now in its 10th year, the annual competition “recognizes the creativity and talent of student cinematographers in the collaborative process of visual storytelling.” The winners will receive a trip to the 2010 Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival in France, where they will have the opportunity to screen their films in the Kodak Short Film Showcase. The filmmakers will also be given the chance participate in networking sessions and other activities which are part of the festival.

“Young filmmakers need to have their work seen by judges of the caliber of John Bailey – and by their peers,” remarked Wendy Elms, Worldwide Education Segment manager for Kodak’s Entertainment Imaging Division. “By providing the opportunity for that, we hope to encourage the next generation of cinematographers to pursue their passion to tell stories on film.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox