Back to IndieWire

Academy Announces Winners of Screenwriting Fellowship

Academy Announces Winners of Screenwriting Fellowship

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced five scripts as recipients of the 24th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting. The writer or writers of each script will receive $30,000. The winners will be feted in a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on November 12. This year’s winners are: Matt Ackley, Los Angeles, “Victoria Falls,” Vineet Dewan and Angus Fletcher, Los Angeles, “Sand Dogs,” John Griffin, Los Angeles, “Dream Before Waking,” Nidhi Anna Verghese, Los Angeles, “Jallianwala Bagh,” and Jeff Williams, Wake Forest, N.C., “Pure.” The award goes to screenwriters who have never produced a film with a budget of more than $5,000, with the anticipation that the script will be fleshed out in the fellowship year. [Bryce J Renninger]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox