Back to IndieWire

From Albania to Vietnam: The Official Foreign Film List

From Albania to Vietnam: The Official Foreign Film List

The full submission list for the 82nd Annual Academy Awards’ foreign-language category has been announced by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. Sixty-five countries have submitted films, with notable exceptions Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, and Singapore, which had submitted films at least three times in the past four years. The complete list is below. The 82nd Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Tuesday, February 2, 2010.

Films submitted for consideration in the Academy Awards’ 2009 foreign language film category:

Albania – Alive, directed by Artan Minarolli

Argentina – The Secret in Their Eyes, directed by Juan José Campanella

Armenia – Autumn of the Magician, directed by Ruben & Vahe Gevorkyants

Australia – Samson and Delilah, directed by Warwick Thornton

Austria – Ein Augenblick Freiheit (For a Moment, Freedom), directed by Arash T. Riahi

Bangladesh – Beyond the Circle, directed by Golam Rabbani Biplob

Belgium – The Misfortunates, directed by Felix Van Groeningen

Bolivia – Southern Zone, directed by Juan Carlos Valdivia

Bosnia and Herzegovina – Night Guards, directed by Namik Kabil

Brazil – Salve Geral, directed by Sergio Rezende

Bulgaria – The World is Big and Salvation Lurks Around the Corner, directed by Stephan Komandarev

Canada – I Killed My Mother, directed by Xavier Dolan

Chile – Dawson, Isla 10, directed by Miguel Littín

China – Forever Enthralled, directed by Chen Kaige

Colombia – The Wind Journeys, directed by Ciro Guerra

Cuba – Fallen Gods, directed by Ernesto Daranas

Czech Republic – Protector, directed by Marek Najbrt

Croatia – Donkey, directed by Antonio Nui

Denmark – Terribly Happy, directed by Henrik Rubin Genz

Estonia – December Heat, directed by Asko Kase

Finland – Postia Pappi Jaakobille (Letters to Father Jacob), directed by Klaus Haro

France – A Prophet, directed by Jacques Audiard

Georgia – The Other Bank, directed by Giorgi Ovashvili

Germany – The White Ribbon, directed by Michael Haneke

Greece – Slaves In Their Bonds, directed by Adonis Lykouresis

Hong Kong – Prince of Tears, directed by Yonfan

Hungary – Kaméleon (Chameleon), directed by Kristzina Goda

Iceland – Reykjavik-Rotterdam, directed by Oskar Jonasson

India – Harishchandrachi Factory, directed by Paresh Mokashi

Indonesia – Jamila and the President, directed by Ratna Sarumpaet

Iran – About Elly, directed by Asghar Farhadi

Israel – Ajami, directed by Yaron Shani and Scandar Copti

Italy – Baaria, directed by Giuseppe Tornatore

Japan – Dare Mo Mamotte Kurenai (Nobody To Watch Over Me), directed by Ryôichi Kimizuka

Kazakhstan – Kelin, directed by Ermek Tursunov

Lithuania – Duburys (Waterhole), directed by Gytis Luksas

Luxembourg – Réfractaire, directed by Nicolas Steil

Macdeonia – Wingless, directed by Ivo Trajkov

Mexico – Backyard, directed by Carlos Carrera

Mongolia – By the Will of Genghis Khan, directed by Andrei Borissov

Morocco – Casanegra, directed by Nour Eddine Lakhmari

The Netherlands – Winter in Wartime, directed by Martin Koolhoven

Norway – Max Manus, directed by Espen Sandberg and Joachim Roenning

Peru – The Milk of Sorrow, directed by Claudia Llosa

Philippines – Ded Na Si Lolo (Grandfather is Dead), directed by Soxie Topacio

Peru – The Milk of Sorrow, directed by Claudia Llosa

Poland – Rewers (The Reverse), directed by Borys Lankosz

Portugal – Um Amor de Perdição (Doomed Love), directed by Mário Barroso

Puerto Rico – Kabo and Platon, directed by Edmundo H. Rodriguez

Romania – Police, Adjective, directed by Corneliu Prumboiu

Russia – Ward No. 6, directed by Aleksandr Gornovsky and Karen Shakhnazarov

Serbia – St. George Shoots the Dragon, directed by Srdjan Dragojevic

Slovakia – Broken Promise, directed by Jirí Chlumsk

Slovenia – Pokrajina St. 2 (Landscape No 2), directed by Vinko Moderndorfer

South Africa – White Wedding, directed by Jann Turner

South Korea – Mother, directed by Bong Jong-ho

Spain – The Dancer In The Thief, directed by Fernando Trueba

Sri Lanka – Akasa Kusum (Flowers in the Sky), directed by Prasanna Vithanage

Sweden – De Ofrivilliga (Involuntary), directed by Ruben Ostlunds

Switzerland – Home, directed by Ursula Meier

Taiwan – No Puedo Vivir Sin Ti (I Can’t Live Without You), directed by Leon Dai

Thailand – Best In Time, directed by Youngyooth Thongkonthun

Turkey – I Saw the Sun, directed by Mahsun Kirmizigül

United Kingdom – Afghan Star, directed by Havana Marking

Uruguay – Bad Day To Go Fishing, directed by Alvaro Brechner

Venezula – Libertador Morales, El Justiciero, directed by Efterpi Charalambidis

Vietnam – Don’t Burn, directed by Nhat Minh Dang

Get the latest on this year’s award season at indieWIRE’s new awards page.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox