Back to IndieWire

IDA Career Award for Errol Morris

IDA Career Award for Errol Morris

The International Documentary Association has announced that Errol Morris will be feted as a career honoree at the 2009 Annual IDA Documentary Awards. The award – given to “a filmmaker who has made a major impact on the documentary genre through a long and distinguished body of work” – has previous gone to Sheila Nevins, Michael Apted, Ken Burns, Albert Maysles, Haskell Wexler, Michael Moore, and last year’s recipient, Werner Herzog. Morris – whose work includes “The Thin Blue Line,” “Standard Operating Procedure” and “The Fog of War” – will receive the award at the 25th Annual IDA Awards on Friday, December 4th at the Director’s Guild in Los Angeles.

Morris joins a few other announced honorees for the IDA Awards. The 2009 IDA Pioneer Award honors producer, director and writer Nicolas Noxon. The award is presented to individuals “who have not only made extraordinary contributions to advancing the non-fiction form, but also those who have also generously donated their time, vision and leadership to the community.” Noxon has produced documentaries, television specials, and series in association with ABC, David Wolper, Columbia Pictures Television, MGM, Time-Life and National Geographic Television.

And finally, for only the third time in the Award’s 25-year history, the IDA will present its Amicus Award. Previously presented to John Hendricks and Steven Spielberg, the IDA Amicus Award acknowledges “the friends of the documentary who have contributed significantly to our industry.” This year, the award will be given to attorney and independent film advocate Michael Donaldson. Donaldson is an entertainment attorney who has been fighting for independent filmmakers for over thirty years.

During this December’s awards show, nominees for distinguished documentary feature-length films and documentary shorts will compete for the organization’s top film honors, with nominations announced November 17th. IDA will welcome back Ira Glass, himself an IDA Award recipient, as host of the 2009 Awards.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox