Back to IndieWire

“Misfortunates” Wins 3 at Hamptons Fest

"Misfortunates" Wins 3 at Hamptons Fest

“The Misfortunates” won the Golden Starfish Award for best narrative feature, and two other prizes, and “Long Distance Love” won the Golden Starfish for best documentary tonight at the 17th Hamptons International Film Festival in East Hampton, NY.

Described by juror Thelma Adams as, “a comedy about alcoholism,” Felix van Groeningen’s “The Misfortunates” debuted at the Director’s Fortnight in Cannes earlier this year and is Belgium’s selection for Best Foreign language Oscar consideration.

“I don’t know what it is with this film – just everything works out,” said van Groeningen whose film picked up two other prizes Sunday night in the Hamptons. “The film got into Cannes at the Directors Fortnight and then other festivals, and is doing well now at home and now this. I guess it just gets you by the balls.”

Paprika Steen enthusiastically received a special jury award tonight for her performance in “Applause.”

Organizers created a new award this year, the Wouter Barendrecht Pioneering Vision Award, in honor of the late Fortissimo Films chief who was recipient of the Hamptons/indieWIRE industry toast at last year’s festival. It was presented to John Maringouin, the director of “Big River Man.” He received a $1,000 cash prize. Planners hope to increase the size of the prize in the coming year.

“We lost one of our most passionate advocates,” said festival executive director Karen Arikian, introducing the new award tonight. “But we also lost a friend.”

List of festival winnners:

Golden Starfish Award for Best Narrative Feature:
“The Misfortunates,” directed by Felix van Groeningen

Golden Starfish Award for Best Documentary:
“Long Distance Love,” directed by Magnus Gertten and Elin Jonsson

Golden Starfish Award for Best Short:
“Dust Kid,” directed by Jung Yumi

Best Film of Conflict & Resolution:
“Rabbit a la Berlin,” directed by Bartek Konopka

Audience Award for Best Narrative Film:
“The Young Victoria,” directed by Jean-Marc Vallee

Audience Award for Best Documentary:
“Waking Sleeping Beauty,” directed by Don Hahn

Audience Award for Best Short:
“This is Her,” directed by Katie Wolfe

Zickerman Foundation Award for best screenplay:
Felix van Groeningen for “The Misfortunates”

Kodak Award for Best Cinematography:
Ruben Impens for “The Misfortunates”

Kanbar Indie Award:
Antonio Campos for “My Adventures in Ladies’ Undergarments”

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Prize:
“Agora,” directed by Alejandro Amenabar

Roc Skincare Gold Standard in Filmmaking Award for a feature female director:
Cheryl Hines for “Serious Moonlight”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Features and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox