Back to IndieWire

Philadelphia IFF Unveils Lineup; Lerman Named Director of Programming

Philadelphia IFF Unveils Lineup; Lerman Named Director of Programming

The Philadelphia Film Society has revealed its lineup for the upcoming 18 ½ Philadelphia International Film Festival.

The festival, which runs October 15 to 19, will open with the premiere of F. Gary Gray’s “Law Abiding Citizen” and is set to close with the regional debut of Lee Daniels’ “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire.” In all, 37 films from 15 countries will be screened including the centerpiece selections: Jeff Stilson’s “Good Hair” and Oren Moverman’s “The Messenger.”

Additionally, The Philadelphia Film Society announced that it has appointed Michael Lerman as its new Director of Programming. Having previously served as the Associate Programmer for the Philadelphia Film Festival in 2007 and 2008, Lerman will work year-round curating for two of the Film Society’s ongoing monthly series: filmadelphiaINDEPENDENT and filmadelphiaDOCUMENTARY. Lerman is also currently the Director of Acquisitions for The Film Sales Company and programs for the Woodstock Film Festival and Fantastic Fest.

“I’m excited to be back in the saddle in Philadelphia,” Lerman said in a statement. “This city has always been my home turf. The ever-growing community here of filmmakers and lovers is what first made me fall in love with film and it’s an honor and privilege to be able give back to that community.”

The complete lineup of 18 ½ Philadelphia International Film Festival:

“Ajami” (Scandar Copti & Yaron Shani, Germany/Israel)
“Antichrist” (Lars von Trier, Denmark)
“Bronson” (Nicolas Winding Refn, UK)
“Dare” (Adam Salky, USA)
“Dear Lemon Lima” (Suzi Yoonessi, USA)
“District 13: Ultimatum” (Patrick Alessandrin, France)
“The Eclipse” (Conor McPherson, Ireland)
“A Film With Me In It” (Ian Fitzgibbon, Ireland)
“Fish Tank” (Andrea Arnold, UK)
“Good Hair” (Jeff Stilson, USA)
“Law Abiding Citizen” (F. Gary Gray, USA)
“The Loss of a Teardrop Diamond” (Jodie Markell, USA)
“Louise-Michel” (Gustave de Kervern & Benoît Delépine, France)
“Mammoth” (Lukas Moodysson, Sweden)
“The Men Who Stare at Goats” (Grant Heslov, USA)
“The Messenger” (Oren Moverman, USA)
“Oh My God” (Peter Rodger, USA)
“The Overbrook Brothers” (John Bryant, USA)
“P-Star Rising” (Gabriel Noble, USA)
“Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” (Lee Daniels, USA)
“The Private Lives of Pippa Lee’ (Rebecca Miller, USA)
“Red Cliff” (John Woo, China)
“The Red Riding Trilogy: Red Riding 1974″ (Julian Jarrold, UK), ‘Red Riding 1980” (James Marsh, UK) and “Red Riding 1983” (Anand Tucker, UK)
“Rembrandt’s J’accuse” (Peter Greenaway, Netherlands/Germany/Finland)
“Ricky” (François Ozon, France)
“Serious Moonlight” (Cheryl Hines, USA)
“Shadow Billionaire’ (Alexis Spraic, USA)
“Shameless” (Jan Hrebejk, Czech Republic)
“The Silence Before Bach” (Pere Portabella, Spain)
“Stingray Sam” (Cory McAbee, USA)
“Tenure” (Mike Million, USA)
“A Town Called Panic” (Stéphane Aubier & Vincernt Patar, Belgium)
“We Live in Public’ (Ondi Timoner, USA)
“Wonderful World’ (Joshua Goldin, USA)
“The Young Victoria” (Jean-Marc Vallée, UK)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Features and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox