Back to IndieWire

“Prophet,” “Ribbon” Among Hollywood World Nominees

"Prophet," "Ribbon" Among Hollywood World Nominees

Five nominees have been announced for the Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards’ annual “Hollywood World Award,” which is given to the year’s best international film. The nominees are Jane Campion’s “Bright Star,” Luca Guadagnino’s “I Am Love,” Jessica Hausner’s “Lourdes,” Jacques Audiard’s “A Prophet,” and Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon.”

“These five films are not just among the best international films, but the best films made this year,” Screen International editor and Hollywood World Award jury chair Mike Goodridge said in a statement. “In addition, we are extremely proud to honor these titles with selection for the Hollywood World Awards.”

The winner will be announced at a gala ceremony that will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills on October 26, 2009. Previous winners include Laurent Cantet’s “The Class,” Pedro Almodovar’s “Volver,” Cristian Mungiu’s “4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days,” and Walter Salles’ “The Motorcycle Diaries.”

The Hollywood Awards additionally announced two more recipients of their annual pre-announced prizes. Christoph Waltz will receive Supporting Actor Award for his work in “Inglourious Basterds,” while humanitarian Father Rick Frechette will be honored with the “Hollywood Humanitarian Award.”

The announcement was made today by “It is an honor to recognize the outstanding talent of Christoph Waltz, as well as the great work that Father Rick Frechette has been providing for the last two decades,” Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival, said in a statement.

An updated list of announced winners is below.

Hollywood Actor Award: Robert De Niro, “Everybody’s Fine”
Hollywood Actress Award: Hilary Swank, “Amelia”
Hollywood Supporting Actor Award: Christoph Waltz, “Inglorious Basterds.”
Hollywood Supporting Actress Award: Julianne Moore, “A Single Man”
Hollywood Director Award: Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”
Hollywood Producer Award: Ryan Kavanaugh, “Brothers,” “Nine”
Hollywood Screenwriter Award: Nora Ephron, “Julie & Julia”
New Hollywood Award: Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious”
Hollywood Breakthrough Actor Award: Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker”
Hollywood Breakthrough Actress Award: Carey Mulligan, “An Education”
Hollywood Comedy Award: Bradley Cooper, “The Hangover”
Hollywood Breakthrough Screenwriter Award: Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber, “(500) Days of Summer”
Hollywood Animation Award: “Up”
Hollywood Cinematographer Award: Roger Deakins, “A Serious Man”
Hollywood Composer Award: Alexandre Desplat, “Cheri,” “Coco Before Chanel,” “Fantastic Mr. Fox,” “Julie & Julia,” “A Prophet”
Hollywood Costume Designer Award: Colleen Atwood, “Nine”
Hollywood Editor Award: Dana Glauberman, “Up in the Air”
Hollywood Production Designer Award: Rick Carter, “Avatar”
Hollywood Visual Effects Award: Scott Farrar, “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen”
Hollywood Humanitarian Award: Father Rick Frechette

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox