You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

PGA To Honor “Precious”

PGA To Honor "Precious"

The Producers Guild of America have announced that “Precious: Based on the novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” will be honored with the 2010 Stanley Kramer Award. The film’s producers will be honored with the award at the 21st Annual PGA Awards ceremony on Sunday, January 24, 2010 at the Hollywood Palladium.

“‘Precious’ is a remarkable film that sends a powerful message of hope – brilliantly reminding us that we have the power to persevere regardless of life’s difficulties. Stanley Kramer’s legacy is ideally celebrated with the selection of this very worthy film,” said PGA Awards Co-Chairs David Friendly and Laurence Mark said in a statement.

The Stanley Kramer Award was established in 2002 to “honor a motion picture, television program, studio, network, producer, executive or other individual entity whose work illuminates provocative social issues in an accessible and elevating fashion.” Previous winners include “Milk,” “The Great Debaters,” “An Inconvenient Truth,” and “Good Night, and Good Luck.”

“Precious,” directed by Lee Daniels and starring Gabourey Sidibe, Mo’Nique, Paula Patton and Mariah Carey, is widely considered a frontrunner in this year’s awards race.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox