Back to IndieWire

“Anvil” Leads IDA Winners

"Anvil" Leads IDA Winners

Sacha Gervasi’s “Anvil! The Story of Anvil” led the winners of International Documentary Association’s 2009 IDA Documentary Awards. The story of the band hailed as the “demi-gods of Canadian metal,” which was received snubbed by the Academy’s shortlist, received IDA’s awards for both overall feature documentary and music documentary. On hand to accept the awards with director Gervasi were Anvil’s Steve “Lips” Kudlow and Robb Reiner.

Also announced in the ceremony, which was hosted by Ira Glass, was the Distinguished Short Film Award, which honored Michael Angus and Murray Fredericks’s “Salt,” which takes the viewer on one of Fredericks’ extreme journeys to capture the heart of the world’s most featureless landscape on Lake Eyre, South Australia.

IDA’s Career Achievement Award was presented by composer Philip Glass to his long time friend and collaborator, Errol Morris, while individual honors of the 2009 Awards also went to Natalia Almada who received the Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Filmmaker Award; independent film advocate Michael Donaldson who received IDA’s Amicus Award; and veteran producer, director and writer Nicolas Noxon who received the organization’s Pioneer Award.

A complete list of winners is below, including winners announced earlier this week.

2009 IDA Documentary Awards Winners

Feature Documentary Award
Anvil! The Story Of Anvil
Director: Sacha Gervasi Producer: Rebecca Yeldham Little Dean’s Yard; Ahimsa Films; Abramorama; Vh1

Short Documentary Award
Directors: Michael Angus, Murray Fredericks Producer/Writer: Michael Angus Jerrycan Films

Continuing Series Award
Executive Director: Simon Kilmurry Vice President: Cynthia Lopez American Documentary, Inc.; Pbs Episodes Submitted: Inheritance (Dir./Prod.: James Moll; Prod.: Christopher Pavlick; Exec. Prods.: Chris Malachowsky, Ryan Malachowsky) Campaign (Dir./Prod.: Kazuhiro Soda) Up The Yangtse (Dir.: Yung Chang; Prods.: Mila Aung-Thwin, Germaine Ying-Gee Wong, John Christou; Exec. Prods.: Daniel Cross, Mila Aung-Thwin, Ravida Din, Sally Bochner)

Limted Series Award
Architecture School
Director/Executive Producer/Original Concept: Michael Selditch Original Concept: Stan Bertheaud Senior Producer: Rob Tate Producer: Rachel Clift Executive Producers: Lynne Kirby, Laura Michalchyshyn Sundance Channel

IDA Music Documentary Award
Anvil! The Story Of Anvil
Director: Sacha Gervasi Producer: Rebecca Yeldham Little Dean’s Yard; Ahimsa Films; Abramorama; Vh1

IDA/Humanitas Award
Garbage Dreams
Director/Producer/Cinematographer/Writer: Mai Iskander Executive Producer: Tiffany Schauer Editor/Co-Producer: Kate Hirson Iskander Films In Co-Production With Motiveart In Association With Chicken & Egg Pictures/Films Transit International

IDA/Pare Lorentz Award
The Final Inch
Director/Producer: Irene Taylor Brodsky Producer: Tom Grant Vermilion Pictures; Google.Org; Hbo Documentary Films

IDA/ABC News Videosource Award
Wounded Knee
Director/Producer: Stanley Nelson Executive Producers: Sharon Grimberg, Mark Samels Writer: Marcia Smith Firelight Media; American Experience; Wgbh; Native American Public Television

IDA/David L. Wolper Student Documentary Achievement Award
The First Kid To Learn English From Mexico
Director/Producer: Peter Jordan Localfilms; Stanford University

Career Achievement Award
Errol Morris

Pioneer Award
Nicolas Noxon

Amicus Award
Michael Donaldson

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox