You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

“Avatar” Wins with NY Film Critics Online

"Avatar" Wins with NY Film Critics Online

Today, the New York Film Critics Online (NYFCO) voted “Avatar” its best picture of the year, naming Kathryn Bigelow best director for “The Hurt Locker”.

Full list of winners:


Jeff Bridges, “Crazy Heart”

Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”

Supporting Actor
Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”

Supporting Actress
Mo’Nique, “Precious”

Breakthrough Performer
Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”

Debut Director
Marc Webb, “(500) Days of Summer”

Ensemble Cast
“In the Loop”

“Inglourious Basterds,” Quentin Tarantino

“The Cove”

Foreign Language
“The White Ribbon”


“Inglourious Basterds,” Robert Richardson

Film Music or Score
“Crazy Heart,” Steve Bruton & T. Bone Burnett
music supervisor: Jeffrey Pollack

Top 10 Films
“Fantastic Mr. Fox”
“The Hurt Locker”
“Inglourious Basterds”
“The Messenger”
“A Serious Man”
“Two Lovers”
“Up in the Air”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox