Back to IndieWire

Berlinale’s Generation Program Announces Jury

Berlinale's Generation Program Announces Jury

The 2010 Berlinale Generation program, for films targeted to younger audiences, will include five jurors: 21 year old Iranian filmmaker Hana Makhmalbaf, who won a Crystal Bear at the 2008 Berlinale for her film “Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht”; last year’s Generation Kplus and Children’s Jury winner, for “C’est pas moi, je le jure!,” Philippe Falardeau; Australian children’s film producer Kylie Du Fresne (2005 Cyrstal Bear for Best Short Film winner “The Djarn Djarns”); director of German Children’s Media Festival Goldener Spatz, Margret Albers; and screenwriter/producer Rowan O’Neill (“The Race”). The jury will be responsible for dispersing the 10,000 Euros in prizes from the Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk.

While a full line-up will not be available until January, the Generation program as it stands today is:

Generation Kplus

“Alamar” (“To The Sea”) by Pedro González Rubio, Mexico 2009
“Boy” by Taika Waititi, New Zealand 2009
“Iep!” (“Eep!”) by Ellen Smit, Netherlands/Belgium 2009, World premiere
“Knerten” by Åsleik Engmark, Norway 2009, International premiere
“La Pivellina” by Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel, Austria/Italy 2009
“Superbror” (“Superbrother”) by Birger Larsen, Denmark 2009, International premiere
“This Way of Life” by Thomas Burstyn, New Zealand/Canada 2009
“Yeo-haeng-ja” (A Brand New Life) by Ounie Lecomte, Republic of Korea / France 2009
“Yuki & Nina” by Nobuhiro Suwa and Hippolyte Girardot, France/Japan 2009

Generation 14plus

“Bran Nue Dae” by Rachel Perkins, Australia 2009
“Gentlemen Broncos” by Jared Hess, USA 2009
“Neukölln Unlimited” by Agostino Imondi and Dietmar Ratsch, Germany 2010 / World premiere
“Os famosos e os duendes da morte” (“The Famous And The Dead”) by Esmir Filho, Brazil/France 2009
“Retratos en un mar de mentiras” (“Portraits In A Sea Of Lies”) by Carlos Gaviria, Colombia 2009 / World premiere
“Road”, Movie by Dev Benegal, India/USA 2009
“SUMMER WARS” by Mamoru Hosoda, Japan 2009
“Te extraño” (“I Miss You”) von Fabián Hofman, Mexico/Argentina/Uruguay 2010 / World premiere
“Vihir” (“The Well”) by Umesh Vinayak Kulkarni, India 2009
“Youth in Revolt” by Miguel Arteta, USA 2009

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox