Back to IndieWire

EFP Announces 2010 Shooting Stars

EFP Announces 2010 Shooting Stars

European Film Promotion announced today the ten actors that are a part of the Shooting Stars 2010, a presentation of up-and-coming European acting talent occurring simultaneous with the Berlinale. The following actors have been selected: Zrinka Cvitešić (Croatia), Kryštof Hadádek (Czech Republic), Pihla Viitala (Finland), Robert Sheehan (Ireland), Michele Riondino (Italy), Anders Baasmo Christiansen (Norway), Agata Buzek (Poland), Dragoş Bucur (Romania), Lotte Verbeek (The Netherlands) and Edward Hogg (United Kingdom). This year’s jury is: Karl Baumgartner (Germany – Producer), Leo Davis (UK – Casting Director), Steven Gaydos (USA – Publishing Editor), Ana Geislerová (Czech Republic – Actress) and Giuseppe Piccioni (Italy – Director). Each of the nominated actors has been chosen for their outstanding work in feature films.

In a statement, the jury said, “As we worked individually and then met as a group, it was clear to all of us on the jury that this was an unusually rich year for European acting talent. Choosing ten actors was both difficult and exciting. When we had completed our task we discovered that this was a strong year especially for talent from Central and Eastern Europe. We also learned that the telling of challenging stories and new, dynamic filmmaking styles were assisted immeasurably by the contributions of these brave performers.”

For more information on the actors in the program, click here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox