Back to IndieWire

Gotham Award Winners

Gotham Award Winners

The full list of winners has been announced for this year’s Gotham Awards. The awards ceremony, hosted by IFP, was held on Monday night in Manhattan. First, a big congrats to pal Ry Russo-Young for winning the “Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You” prize for her second feature, You Won’t Miss Me. Other winners include The Wrestler screenwriter Robert Siegel’s “Breakthrough Director” award for his acclaimed comedy/drama Big Fan (out on DVD and iTunes in January).

Kathryn Bigelow’s The Hurt Locker won “Best Ensemble Performance,” while Catalina Saavedra won “Breakthrough Actor” for her titular performance in The Maid. Oddly, director Robert Kenner was not in attendance to accept his award for “Best Documentary,” which was given to his film Food Inc. Accepting on his behalf, was Magnolia Pictures president Eamonn Bowles (who released the film). The award for “Best Feature” went to The Hurt Locker as well. While the Gothams is not necessarily a precursor to the Oscars, this is definitely the winner of the night which has the best chance of making it to the Academy Awards next year.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox