Back to IndieWire

“Hurt Locker” Wins with Boston Critics

"Hurt Locker" Wins with Boston Critics

Critics groups across the country are voting this week on their favorite films of 2009. In Boston today, nearly twenty film critics from The Boston Society of Film Critics picked their prizes, awarding five honors to “The Hurt Locker” today, including best picture, best actor (Jeremy Renner), best director (Kathryn Bigelow), best cinematography and best editing.

The list of winners:

Best Picture
“The Hurt Locker”

Best Actor
Jeremy Renner for “The Hurt Locker”

Best Actress
Meryl Streep for “Julie & Julia”

Best Supporting Actor
Christoph Waltz for “Inglourious Basterds”

Best Supporting Actress
Mo’Nique for “Precious”

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker”

Best Screenplay
Joel & Ethan Coen, “A Serious Man”

Best Cinematography
“The Hurt Locker”

Best Documentary
“The Cove”

Best Foreign-Language Film
— TBA —

Best Animated Film

Best Film Editing
“The Hurt Locker”

Best New Filmmaker
Neill Blomkamp for “District 9”

Best Ensemble Cast
Tie between “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” and “Star Trek”

Best Use of Music in a Film
“Crazy Heart”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox