Back to IndieWire

“Locker” Leads San Fran Critics

"Locker" Leads San Fran Critics

Continuing its essential sweep of the critics awards, Kathryn Bigelow’s “The Hurt Locker” won both best picture and best director at the San Francisco Film Critics Awards. Other major winners included actors Colin Firth and Meryl Streep, who won lead acting kudos for their work in “A Single Man” and “Julie & Julia,” and while “Precious”‘s Mo’Nique continued her domination of the supporting actress category, Christian McKay beat out Christoph Waltz (who has been dominating the announced winners).

The complete list of winners is below.

Best Picture
“The Hurt Locker”

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”

Best Original Screenplay
Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Best Actor
Colin Firth, “A Single Man”

Best Actress
Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”

Best Supporting Actor
Christian McKay, “Me and Orson Welles”

Best Supporting Actress
Mo’Nique, “Precious”

Best Animated Feature

Best Foreign Language Film
“You, the Living” (Sweden)

Best Documentary
“Anvil! The Story of Anvil”

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins, “A Serious Man”

Special Citations
“Sita Sings the Blues”
Marlon Riggs Award for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community
Frazer Bradshaw, filmmaker, in recognition of his film “Everything Strange and New”
Barry Jenkins, filmmaker, in recognition of his film “Medicine for Melancholy”
In Memoriam
Rose Kaufman

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox