Back to IndieWire

“Avatar,” “Locker,” Lead Critics Choice; Streep & Bullock Tie

"Avatar," "Locker," Lead Critics Choice; Streep & Bullock Tie

The 15th Annual Broadcast Film Critics Awards (or the “Critics’ Choice,” as they are widely known) were handed out tonight at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles. Leading the winners was James Cameron’s “Avatar,” which won a whopping seven trophies – though none of them in major categories.

Cameron’s ex-wife Kathryn Bigelow actually took the nights two top honors – best director and best picture – for her “The Hurt Locker,” while “Inglourious Basterds” won three major awards: best supporting actor for Christoph Waltz, best original screenplay for Quentin Tarnantino, and the award for best acting ensemble.

Meanwhile, for the second year in a row, Meryl Streep tied for a win in the best actress category, this time with “The Blind Side”‘s Sandra Bullock. Last year, she tied “Rachel Getting Married” star Anne Hathaway.

Other major winners included Jeff Bridges, who won best actor for “Crazy Heart,” and Mo’Nique, who gave a passionate speech upon winning the best supporting actress award for “Precious.”

“Thank you to who i believe is one of the most brilliant and visonary directors of our time,” she said. “Lee Daniels, you are absolutely brilliant… And Gabby, sister, I am awe struck by your presence, baby.”

Generally, the awards are seen as a very reliable predicator of the Oscars. Last year, eventual Oscar winners “Slumdog Millionaire,” Danny Boyle, Sean Penn, Heath Ledger and Kate Winslet (though in the supporting actress category) all won with the BFCA.

The complete list of winners:

Best Picture:
The Hurt Locker

Best Actor:
Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart

Best Actress:
Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia AND Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side

Best Supporting Actor:
Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Best Supporting Actress:
Mo’Nique, Precious: Based on the novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

Best Director:
Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Best Original Screenplay:
Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Jason Reitman & Shelton Turner, Up In The Air”

Best Acting Ensemble:
Inglourious Basterds

Best Young Actor/Actress:
Saoirse Ronan, The Lovely Bones

Best Animated Feature

Best Action Movie

Best Comedy:
The Hangover

Best Foreign Language Film:
Broken Embraces

Best Documentary Feature:
The Cove

Best Song:
“The Weary Kind” from Crazy Heart

Best Score:

Best Cinematography:

Best Art Direction:

Best Editing:

Best Costume Design:
The Young Victoria

Best Makeup:
District 9

Best Visual Effects:

Best Sound:

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox