Back to IndieWire

International Cinephile Society Likes “Basterds,” “Serious Man”

International Cinephile Society Likes "Basterds," "Serious Man"

In a breath of fresh air from most other 2009 awards came via the International Cinephile Society today, who announced their nominees for the best in film for last year. Quentin Tarantino’s “Inglourious Basterds” led the field with 10 nominations, followed by Joel & Ethan Coen’s “A Serious Man,” Kathryn Bigelow’s “The Hurt Locker” and Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon.” Oscar favorite “Avatar”‘s sole nomination came for Art Direction.

Check out the full list of nominations below. The winners, along with ranked lists for Best Picture and Best Film Not in the English Language, will be announced on February 17, 2010.

Last year, Mike Leigh’s “Happy-Go-Lucky” led the winners taking both best picture and best actress for Sally Hawkins. Christopher Nolan (“The Dark Knight”) and Gus Van Sant (“Milk”) tied for best director.

o 35 Shots of Rum
o Bright Star
o District 9
o Fantastic Mr. Fox
o The Hurt Locker
o Inglourious Basterds
o A Serious Man
o Tokyo Sonata
o Up In The Air
o The White Ribbon

o Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker
o Neill Blomkamp – District 9
o Ethan & Joel Coen – A Serious Man
o Michael Haneke – The White Ribbon
o Quentin Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds

o 35 Shots of Rum
o The Beaches of Agnes
o Broken Embraces
o The Headless Woman
o Lorna’s Silence
o O’Horten
o Ponyo
o Still Walking
o Summer Hours
o Tokyo Sonata
o The White Ribbon

o Sharlto Copley – District 9
o Colin Firth – A Single Man
o Joaquin Phoenix – Two Lovers
o Jeremy Renner – The Hurt Locker
o Michael Stuhlbarg – A Serious Man

o Abbie Cornish – Bright Star
o Catalina Saavedra – The Maid
o Gabourey Sidibe – Precious
o Meryl Streep – Julie and Julia
o Tilda Swinton – Julia

o Peter Capaldi – In the Loop
o Anthony Mackie – The Hurt Locker
o Christian McKay – Me and Orson Welles
o Jeremie Renier – Lorna’s Silence
o Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

o Penelope Cruz – Broken Embraces
o Vera Farmiga – Up In The Air
o Diane Kruger – Inglourious Basterds
o Melanie Laurent – Inglourious Basterds
o Mo’Nique – Precious

o 35 Shots of Rum – Claire Denis & Jean-Pol Fargeau
o The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal
o Inglourious Basterds – Quentin Tarantino
o A Serious Man – Ethan & Joel Coen
o Summer Hours – Olivier Assayas
o The White Ribbon – Michael Haneke

o District 9 – Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell
o Fantastic Mr. Fox – Wes Anderson & Noah Baumbach
o In the Loop – Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci & Tony Roche
o A Single Man – Tom Ford & David Scearce
o Up in the Air – Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner
o Where the Wild Things Are – Spike Jonze & Dave Eggers

o Antichrist – Anthony Dod Mantle
o Bright Star – Greig Fraser
o Inglourious Basterds – Robert Richardson
o A Serious Man – Roger Deakins
o The White Ribbon – Christian Berger

o Broken Embraces – Jose Salcedo
o District 9 – Julian Clarker
o The Hurt Locker – Chris Innis & Bob Murawski
o Inglourious Basterds – Sally Menke
o A Serious Man – Roderick Jaynes

o Avatar – Rick Carter & Robert Stromberg
o Fantastic Mr. Fox – Nelson Lowry
o Inglourious Basterds – David Wasco
o A Serious Man – Jess Gonchor
o A Single Man – Dan Bishop

o Fantastic Mr. Fox – Alexandre Desplat
o Ponyo – Joe Hisaishi
o A Single Man – Abel Korzeniowski
o Star Trek – Michael Giacchino
o Up – Michael Giacchino

o In the Loop
o Inglourious Basterds
o A Serious Man
o Summer Hours
o The White Ribbon

o Coraline
o Fantastic Mr. Fox
o Mary and Max
o Ponyo
o Up

o Anvil! The Story of Anvil
o The Beaches of Agnes
o The Cove
o Of Time and the City
o The September Issue

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox