Back to IndieWire

NAACP Likes “Precious”

NAACP Likes "Precious"

The nominations for the NAACP Image Awards are listed below, with Lee Daniels’s “Precious: Based on the novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” leading the pack. The winners will be announced February 26, 2010.

Best Motion Picture
“The Blind Side”
“Michael Jackson’s This Is It”
“The Princess and the Frog”

Best Director
Scott Sanders, “Black Dynamite”
F. Gary Gray, “Law Abiding Citizen”
George Tillman Jr., “Notorious”
Spike Lee, “Passing Strange: The Movie”
Lee Daniels, “Precious”

Best Actor
Quinton Aaron, “The Bling Side”
Idris Elba, “Obsessed”
Jamie Foxx, “Law Abiding Citizen”
Morgan Freeman, “Invictus”
Denzel Washington, “The Taking of Pelham 123″

Best Actress
Sandra Bullock, “The Blind Side”
Taraji P. Henson, “Tyler Perry’s I Can Do Bad All By Myself”
Sophie Okonedo, “Skin”
Anika Noni Rose, “The Princess and the Frog”
Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious”

Best Supporting Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “2012″
Danny Glover, “2012″
Lenny Kravitz, “Precious”
Anthony Mackie, “The Hurt Locker”
Adam Rodriguez, “Tyler Perry’s I Can Do Bad All By Myself”

Best Supporting Actress
Mariah Carey, “Precious”
Mo’Nique, “Precious”
Paula Patton, “Precious”
Zoe Saldana, “Avatar”
Alfre Woodard, “American Violet”

Best Writing
John Lee Hancock, “The Blind Side”
Anthony Peckham, “Invictus”
Reggie Rock Bythewood, Cheo Hodari Coker, “Notorious”
Geoffrey Fletcher, “Precious”
Tyler Perry, “Tyler Perry’s I Can Do Bad All By Myself”

Best Independent Motion Picture
“American Violet”
“Medicine for Melancholy”

Best Foreign Motion Picture
“The Maid”
“Rudo y Cursi”
“Sin Nombre”
“The Stoning of Soraya M.”

Best Documentary
“Capitalism: A Love Story”
“Crips and Bloods: Made in America”
“Good Hair”
“More Than a Game”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox