Back to IndieWire

Reitman, Gray, More on Tap for Directors Close-Up

Reitman, Gray, More on Tap for Directors Close-Up

Film Independent has announced that writer/directors Neil LaBute (“The Shape of Things,” “Possession”), John August (“The Nines,” writer “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”), as well as New York Times Media Correspondent Michael Cieply will be moderators at the tenth annual Directors Close-Up, taking place February 3 to March 3, 2010 at The Landmark – West Los Angeles in LA. Series panelists this year include directors Cherien Dabis, Ruben Fleischer, James Gray, Michael Hoffman, Jason Reitman, Marc Webb, editor Dana Glauberman, and cinematographer Eric Steelberg, with additional names to be announced.

“The Directors Close-Up is a singular opportunity for both independent filmmakers and the film-loving public to learn about every step of the creative process, ask questions, and interact with the panelists in an intimate setting,” said María Bozzi, Director of Film Education in a statement. “We are so excited to have Neil, John and Michael lead the discussions with such a diverse group of illustrious directors and their collaborators.”

This year’s panels will cover the following topics (descriptions courtesy of Film Independent):

February 3rd – The Creative Collaboration – Moderator John August and panelists Jason Reitman (“Up in the Air”), editor Dana Glauberman, cinematographer Eric Steelberg and other members of the creative team will spend an evening exploring the collaborative process that takes a film from script to screen, including: research, production design, lighting, camera placement, and more.

February 10th – Sound Design – Moderator John August will converse with directors and sound designers about creating a powerful film soundtrack, from sound effects and location sound to the final mix. Panelists to be announced.

February 17th – Working with Actors – Moderator Neil LaBute will lead a discussion with directors, casting directors, and actors about the casting process, collaboration on the set, and how directors elicit great performances for the screen. Panelists to be announced.

February 24th – Writing and Directing Comedy – Moderator Neil LaBute and Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland) will engage in a session about what it takes to keep the audience laughing.

March 3rd – Spirit Awards Roundtable – “Co-presented by The New York Times” – Moderator Michael Cieply and 25th Film Independent Spirit Award nominees Cherien Dabis (“Amreeka”), James Gray (“Two Lovers”), Michael Hoffman (“The Last Station”), and Marc Webb “500 Days of Summer”) will discuss their craft, challenges, and how they stay true to their visions and the art.

For more information on this year’s panels, visit Film Independent’s website. [Andy Lauer]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox