Back to IndieWire

True/False Names 2010 True Vision & True Life Honorees

True/False Names 2010 True Vision & True Life Honorees

True/False has announced that its 2010 True Vision Award, given to a mid-career filmmaker with great potential and a new film, will go to Laura Poitras. Poitras’s new film, “The Oath,” a Sundance premiere, is described by True/False as “a new level in documentary – seamlessly shifting from the intensely intimate to broadest of global political issues. It is neither didactic nor simple, but rather a supremely complex portrait that puts a face on people who most of us would prefer to think of simply as ‘terrorists.'” Poitras will bring hte film to the 2010 True/False Film Festival. Previous True Vision winners include: Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky, Stephen Marshall, Kirby Dick, Brett Morgen, Alex Gibney and Kim Longinotto. True/False also announced that Thet Sambath, the subject of “Enemies of the People,” directed by Rob Lemkin, is the recipient of this year’s True Life Fund. In its fourth year, the fund supports subjects of documentaries with “tangible and meaningful assistance.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox