You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

USC Scripter Noms Announced

USC Scripter Noms Announced

The nominees for the 2009 Scripter Award were announced this evening. The annual honor has been given since 1989 by the Friends of the USC Libraries to the best realization of an english language book adapted to film. It’s often a decent suggestion as to what might come of the Academy’s adapted screenplay category, and the last two years both winners here – “Slumdog Millionaire” and “No Country For Old Men” have gone on to receive Oscars. The nominees are listed below, including surprise entries “Crazy Heart” and “District 9,” the latter of which is surprising in that it is actually adapted from a short film and not a book. Notable snubs include “Fantastic Mr. Fox,” “Invictus,” and “Where The Wild Things Are.”

Crazy Heart – Fox Searchlight Pictures
Scott Cooper, screenwriter
Thomas Cobb, author

District 9 – Tri-Star Pictures
Neill Blomkamp, screenwriter and author
Terri Tatchell, screenwriter

An Education – Sony Pictures Classics
Nick Hornby, screenwriter
Lynn Barber, author

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire – Lionsgate
Geoffrey Fletcher, screenwriter
Sapphire, author

Up in the Air – Paramount Pictures
Jason Reitman, screenwriter
Sheldon Turner, screenwriter
Walter Kirn, author

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox