Back to IndieWire

“Air,” “Locker” Take Top Honors at WGA Awards

"Air," "Locker" Take Top Honors at WGA Awards

The Writers Guild of America offered little surprise at their annual awards tonight, with scripts for “The Hurt Locker” and “Up In The Air” taking top honors in the feature film categories. Mark Boal won best original screenplay for “Locker” while Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner won adapted honors for “Air.” Additionally – and just as unsurprising – Mark Monroe’s screenplay for “The Cove” won in the documentary category.

Boal’s “Locker” script and Reitman and Turner’s work on “Air” are both also Academy Award nominees, though they face considerably more competition at the Oscars as the WGA disqualified five eventual Oscar nominees, including “Locker”‘s main competitors in the original screenplay category – Quentin Tarantino’s “Inglourious Basterds” script and Bob Peterson, Pete Docter & Tom McCarthy’s “Up” script. Other disqualified scripts included “An Education,” “District 9” and “In The Loop,” all adapted screenplay Oscar nominees.

Anne Thompson of Thompson on Hollywood was tweeting from the event, offering a more detailed take on the awards. The complete list of winners is below.

Original Screenplay
The Hurt Locker, Written by Mark Boal; Summit Entertainment

Adapted Screenplay
Up in the Air, Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner; Based upon the novel by Walter Kirn; Paramount Pictures

Documentary Screenplay
The Cove, Written by Mark Monroe; Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox