Back to IndieWire

Austin Film Society Honors Lukas Haas and “Waiting for Guffman”

Austin Film Society Honors Lukas Haas and "Waiting for Guffman"

At its 10th anniversary celebration, presented by AT&T on March 11, the Austin Film Society (AFS) will induct Austin-bred actor Lukas Haas into the Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards and award the cast and crew of Christopher Guest’s “Waiting for Guffman” the Star of Texas Award. Haas and the “Guffman” team join previously announced honorees Michael Nesmith (Warren Skaaren Lifetime Achievement Award) and Quentin Tarantino (Tom Mix Honorary Texan Award).

Haas might be best known to most for his lead role at the age of seven, opposite Harrison Ford in Peter Weir’s “Witness.” Since, the Emmy-nominated actor has gone on to star in Tim Burton’s “Mars Attacks!” and Woody Allen’s musical “Everybody Says I Love You.” He will next be seen in Christopher Nolan’s follow-up to “The Dark Knight,” “Inception.”

The comedy classic “Waiting for Guffman” was filmed in Austin and Lockhart back in 1996. Accepting the award on behalf of the cast and crew will be actress Catherine O’Hara, who starred in the film alongside Fred Williard, Eugene Levy and Parker Posey.

Past AFS honorees include Billy Bob Thornton, Forest Whitaker, Dennis Quaid and Sissy Spacek among many others. Oscar Nominee Thomas Haden Church (“Sideways”) will emcee the event.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox