Back to IndieWire

Austin Society Honors Nesmith

Austin Society Honors Nesmith

The Austin Film Society will present its Warren Skaaren Lifetime Achievement Award to Michael Nesmith at the 10th anniversary Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards on March 11, 2010. The event honors Texans who have made a significant contribution to the film and media industry.

Nesmith, born in Houston and raised in Dallas, is perhaps best known for his contributions to The Monkees band and TV show, as well as for his solo career as a musician, television personality, writer and philanthropist. In the mid-1970s, Nesmith created the Nickelodeon cable network television program “Pop Clips,” which was subsequently developed for an MTV show. As a musician, Nesmith is known for his single “Cruisin” and his Grammy-winning music video “Elephant Parts.” In addition, he has served as the executive producer for the movies “Repo Man,” “Tapeheads” and “Timerider.” Nesmith is currently readying a virtual-reality music musical performance space called Videoranch 3D for for SXSW.

Nesmith will be honored along with Lukas Haas, Bruce McGill and Quentin Tarantino (Tom Mix honorary Texan Award) at the ceremony in Austin. Catherin O’Hara will accept the Star of Texas Award for “Waiting for Guffman,” while Thomas Haden Church, a Texas native, will emcee the ceremony. Past Texas Film Hall of Fame honorees include Billy Bob Thornton, Mike Judge, Morgan Fairchild, Dennis Quaid, Kris Kristofferson, Forest Whitaker, Sissy Spacek.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox