Back to IndieWire

“Hurt Locker” Wins Big at 82nd Oscars in Hollywood; Producer Chartier Speaks in Malibu

"Hurt Locker" Wins Big at 82nd Oscars in Hollywood; Producer Chartier Speaks in Malibu

Kathryn Bigelow became the first woman to win best director as her “The Hurt Locker” dominated the 82nd Academy Awards, winning six awards including best picture. Other multiple winners included “Avatar,” “Up,” “Crazy Heart” and “Precious: Based on the novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

“Precious” managed the biggest upset of the night, as in addition to its expected award for Mo’Nique’s supporting performance, it also toppled Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner’s “Up In The Air” script for best adapted screenplay.

“Keep fighting,” proclaimed Nicolas Chartier, producer of “The Hurt Locker” in an impromptu Oscar acceptance speech delivered in a tent near the beach in Malibu tonight. Chartier, uninvited from the Oscars as a penalty for his campaigning via email, recalled working his way up from a job as a janitor at Euro Disney in Paris to establishing himself as a financier, salesman and film producer. He was saluted by Graham Taylor from the William Morris Endeavor agency and producer Lynette Howell at the home of TV producer Mike Fleiss.

In a rare moment, a best picture Oscar acceptance speech was delivered off-site.

The full video of the speech is available now at indieWIRE.

During lengthy remarks in front of the hundreds gathered to watch the Oscars with him here in Malibu, Chartier thanked his colleagues from the film and encouraged attendees to keep making movies. He was met with a huge ovation as he stood on a footstool and waved a small plastic statue in front of a giant projection screening in the tent.

Nearby, a giant Oscar statue was decorated with a red beret. At the end of the red carpet leading into the tent, a large blow-up poster featured the words BANNED over a photo of producer Nicolas Chartier.

Kathryn Bigelow on her way to the stage to accept the Academy Award for Best Director. Photo credit: Matt Petit / ©A.M.P.A.S.

“Fuck Avatar” read a homemade t-shirt worn by one attendee at the Oscar viewing party here in Malibu tonight. The crowd of Chartier fans and followers was clearly biased. They cheered wildly every time “The Hurt Locker” was victorious and then fell silent whenever “Avatar” won.

“Keep trying,” Chartier said, near the end of his speech, “Everyone in this room, keep trying, keep pushing, keep knocking on doors if you believe you have something.”

“This is what we live for,” Chartier told a cheering crowd, “To tell stories, to make people laugh and cry. To entertain and sometimes to make art.”

“We have this chance to live our passion,” he added, “So keep knocking on doors and keep making movies, everyone.”

Minute by Minute | The Nominees | The Predictions | The Precursors | The Presenters | Show Preview | More Awards Coverage

The Winners | Minute by Minute | More Awards Coverage

The complete list of winners of this year’s Academy Awards:

Best Picture
“The Hurt Locker”, Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro, Producers

Actor in a Leading Role
Jeff Bridges in “Crazy Heart”

Actor in a Supporting Role
Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”

Actress in a Leading Role
Sandra Bullock in “The Blind Side”

Actress in a Supporting Role
Mo’Nique in “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Animated Feature Film
“Up”, Pete Docter

Art Direction
“Avatar”, Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

“Avatar”, Mauro Fiore

Costume Design
“The Young Victoria”, Sandy Powell

“The Hurt Locker”, Kathryn Bigelow

Documentary (Feature)
“The Cove”, Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens

Documentary (Short Subject)
“Music by Prudence”, Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Film Editing
“The Hurt Locker”, Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Foreign Language Film
“El Secreto de Sus Ojos”, Argentina

“Star Trek”, Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Music (Original Score)
“Up”, Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song)
“The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from “Crazy Heart”, Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Short Film (Animated)
“Logorama”, Nicolas Schmerkin

Short Film (Live Action)
“The New Tenants”, Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing
“The Hurt Locker”, Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing
“The Hurt Locker”, Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Visual Effects
“Avatar”, Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
“Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”, Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher

Writing (Original Screenplay)
“The Hurt Locker”, Written by Mark Boal

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox