Back to IndieWire

“Winter’s Bone,” “Flag” Top Florida Fest Winners

"Winter's Bone," "Flag" Top Florida Fest Winners

The 19th annual Florida Film Festival concluded this weekend, handing out its juried and audience awards in a variety of categories. Sundance Grand Jury Prize winner “Winter’s Bone” led the narrative jury winners, while Michael Tucker and Petra Epperlein’s “How To Hold a Flag” led in the documentary jury category. Audiences opted for two different films, with Cruz Angeles’s “Don’t Let Me Drown” and Marshall Curry’s “Racing Dreams” winning the narrative and doc audience awards, respectively.

The complete list of winners is below:

Grand Jury Award For Best Narrative Feature:
Winter’s Bone, Directed By Debra Granik

Special Jury Award For Narrative Filmmaking:
Homewrecker, Directed By Brad and Todd Barnes

Left to right are FFF documentary competition entry “How to Fold a Flag” co-director Michael Tucker (“The Prisoner or: How I Planned to Kill Tony Blair,” “Gunner Palace”, all directed with his partner Petra Epperlein), Enzian programming director Matthew Curtis and sub-genre consulting founder Brian Newman who is serving on this year’s FFF shorts jury. Something to note: The Florida Film Festival is an official Academy Awards qualifying festival for dramatic shorts. The grand jury prize-winner of the dramatic short award is eligible to submit their film for Oscar consideration. Photo by Mark Rabinowitz.

Audience Award For Best Narrative Feature:
Don’t Let Me Drown, Directed By Cruz Angeles

Grand Jury Award For Best Documentary Feature:
How To Fold A Flag, Directed By Michael Tucker and Petra Epperlein

Special Jury Award For Documentary Filmmaking:
Best Worst Movie, Directed By Michael Paul Stephenson

Audience Award For Best Documentary Feature:
Racing Dreams, Directed By Marshall Curry

Grand Jury Award For Best Documentary Short:
The Poodle Trainer, Directed By Vance Malone

Grand Jury Award For Best Narrative Short:
Touch, Directed By Jen McGowan

Grand Jury Award For Best Animated Short:
The Cow Who Wanted To Be A Hamburger, Directed By Bill Plympton

Special Jury Award For Outstanding Performance:
Jonathan Orsini, Cigarette Candy (Directed By Lauren Wolkstein)

Audience Award For Best Short Film:
Music By Prudence, Directed By Roger Ross Williams

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox