Back to IndieWire

European Parliament Unveils LUX Prize Competitors

European Parliament Unveils LUX Prize Competitors

Yesterday the European Parliament unveiled the ten films pre-selected to compete for this year’s LUX Prize, part of the upcoming Brussels European Film Festival. The competing films will first screen in Venice and then be shown in Brussels from October 26 to November 19. The winning film will be awarded November 24 by the President of the European Parliament in Strasbourg.

Established in 2007, the LUX Prize was created by the European Parliament in an effort to show their commitment to the European film industry. The winning film will benefit from the financial support of the Parliament, who will subtitle the film into the 23 languages of European Union, and support the subsequent DVD release of the film.

Below are the ten competing films:

“Akadimia Platonos” (Plato’s Academy) by Filippos Tsitos, Greece, Germany
“Bibliothèque Pascal” by Szabolcs Hajdu, Hungary, Germany, United Kingdom, Romania
“Die Fremde” (When We Leave) by Feo Aladag, Germany
“Illégal” (Illegal) by Olivier Masset-Depasse, Belgium
“Indigène d’Eurasie” (Eastern Drift) by Sharunas Bartas, Lithuania, France, United Kingdom
“Io sono l’amore” (I Am Love) by Luca Guadagnino, Italy
“La bocca del lupo” (The Mouth of the Wolf) by Pietro Marcello, Italy
“Lourdes” by Jessica Hausner, Austria, France, Germany
“Medalia de onoare” (Medal of Honour) by Calin Peter Netzer, Germany, Romania
“R” by Tobias Lindholm and Michael Noer, Denmark

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox