Back to IndieWire

“Family” & “Make Believe” Take Top L.A. Film Festival Accolades

"Family" & "Make Believe" Take Top L.A. Film Festival Accolades

Danish director Pernille Fischer Christensen’s “En Familie” (A Family) won the prize for best narrative film, while J. Clay Tweel’s “Make Believe” took best feature documentary Satuday afternoon at the Los Angeles Film Festival. Both top prize winners receive an unrestricted $50,000 cash prize from Film Independent, which organizes the annual festival.

In other prizes, the award for Best Ensemble Performance in the Narrative Competition went to Sabrina Lloyd, James Urbaniak, Lynn Cohen, Harry Chase, Nate Smith and Kamel Boutros for their performance in Adam Reid’s “Hello Lonesome.” The award for Best Narrative Short Film went to Pablo Larcuen’s “My Invisible Friend,” while the award for Best Documentary Short Film went to Tomasz Wolski’s “The Lucky One.” Beomsik Shimbe Shim’s “Wonder Hospital” won the prize for Best Animated Short Film.

The audience award winners will be announced tomorrow afternoon at the Closing Night film, “Despicable Me.”

“In a year that celebrated an exhilarating spectrum of American and international cinema, it’s so fitting that these jury awards reflect the incredible diversity of the festival,” commented L.A. Film Festival Director Rebecca Yeldham about today’s winners.

The 2010 Los Angeles Film Festival screened over 200 feature films, shorts, and music videos, from 40 countries. LAFF opened with “The Kids Are All Right,” directed by Lisa Cholodenko. Summit Entertainment’s “The Twilight Saga: Eclipse,” directed by David Slade, had its world premiere at the festival on Thursday, June 24. Academy Award-winning director Kathryn Bigelow was this year’s Guest Director.

The list of L.A. Film Festival winners with descriptions provided by the festival:

Narrative Award (for Best Narrative Feature): “A Family” (En Familie) directed by Pernille Fischer Christensen (Denmark).

The conflict between love and duty plays out in this stunning, award-winning saga about a successful Danish family that faces agonizing choices when its charismatic patriarch falls ill.

“My Invisible Friend” short film winner, Pablo Larcuen. Photo by Kim Adelman.

Documentary Award (for Best Documentary Feature): “Make Believe” directed by J. Clay Tweel (Japan/South Africa/USA).

Armed with magic hoops, decks of cards and homegrown illusions, six hopefuls from around the world prepare for Las Vegas’ World Magic Seminar, and the chance to win the title of Teen World Premiere.

Best Ensemble Performance in the Narrative Competition: Sabrina Lloyd, James Urbaniak, Lynn Cohen, Harry Chase, Nate Smith and Kamel Boutros in Adam Reid’s “Hello Lonesome.”

With an enchanting mixture of laughter and longing, the worlds of six, eclectic, lonely individuals are woven together as they explore those age-old human desires: to love and be loved.

Best Narrative Short Film: “My Invisible Friend” by Pablo Larcuen

Best Documentary Short Film: “The Lucky Ones” by Tomasz Wolski

Best Animated Short Film: “Wonder Hospital” by Beomsik Shimbe Shim

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox