You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

UCLA New Creative Work Director’s Spotlight Names Honorees

UCLA New Creative Work Director's Spotlight Names Honorees

UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television’s Festival of New Creative Work will honor filmmakers Roger Corman, Lee Daniels, and eight outstanding student directors on June 10th during the festival’s closing night gala. This annual Director’s Spotlight is one of the festival’s most notable events and will this year host a panel of industry professionals. Roger Corman will receive the Champion Spirit Award for demonstrating “great courage, foresight and integrity to nurture, mentor and champion new talent,” while “Precious” director Lee Daniels will receive the Filmmaker of the Year Award for telling stories that examine how we look at the human condition while channeling the spirit of independent filmmaking. Award recipients are voted on by the students.
Amongst the prior students who have been featured at the Director’s Spotlight are Joe Russo (“Arrested Development”) and Alexander Payne (“Sideways”). For more information on this and the rest of the festival’s free events, check out the site here.

— Sophia Savage

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox